Why I Didn’t Answer The Door

About 20 years ago, I returned home from my noon to midnight shift at a hospital emergency room.  It was close to 1:00 in the morning.  I parked my car behind the rear unit of the tri-plex in which I lived.  The back door and front door were both on the same side of the house, about 25 feet apart.  It was a very dark night.  I had not left my porch light, which actually was pretty much my custom until this night.  But even in the near pitch darkness, I could still see something on my front porch, and that something looked an awful lot like a dead body.

I quickly let myself in the back door as I didn’t have a good feeling about “this”.

I switched on the front porch light and peeked out the small peep door in the front door.  Sure enough, there was a “dead guy” on my porch!  But I was suspicious.  I grabbed the phone and called 911.  I hollered out the peep hole to the dead guy that I had called for help for him if he was the one needing it, and for me, if I was the one needing it.  My landlord was a cop whose mother lived in the front unit, so let’s just say this…the response time was like lightening.  Despite that, once I informed the dead guy that help was on the way, I heard him get up and bolt away down the front path.  The police showed up just moments later.

And they told me it was a good thing I hadn’t gone right to him to see if he needed help, because there’d been a series of crimes against health care workers recently…seems we have this desire to want to help people that sometimes causes us to make decisions that might not be the smartest when it comes to our own safety.  This guy would pretend to be having a medical emergency on the porches of female healthcare workers in order to lure them into “helping” him.  He would apparently scope out potential victims who worked odd shifts and returned in the wee hours.

Fortunately I am worst case scenario girl, or I could have been one of his victims.

So, whoever it was who rang my doorbell at 1:00 THIS morning, that is one reason why I didn’t answer the door.

The other reason is that I have a friend who has a totally cray cray stalker who has been escalating their stalker activities, and I have fallen into the circle of destruction.  I don’t know if they know where I live, but I am not taking any undue chances.

No way I was gonna answer that door.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

One response to “Why I Didn’t Answer The Door

Leave a Reply

