The Wonder Tower

Roadside kitsch.  LOVE IT!

Yesterday my dad, my nephew Mitchell, and I, headed out to Genoa, Colorado for a day trip to “The Wonder Tower”.  It was soooo much better than I even imagined it would be!  There is a maze of dusty rooms filled to the gills with all kinds of strange and wonderful collections.  The tower is a series of themed rooms (the red room, the yellow room, the big room, etc.) which houses a number of creaky worn out wind-y staircases and ladders that lead to a lookout platform way up at the top.  You can see the air above six states, supposedly.

From the minute I saw it from the freeway I knew I was in for a treat!

If you like weird collections and oddities, and especially if you like to take pictures….this place is the place for you!

Maybe I’ll see you there!

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

4 responses to “The Wonder Tower

  • Polly Hoyt Nance

    I love oddities and I love these photographs! Love them all really 🙂 Great work! I definitely must go there!

  • Lou (Linda)

    Then you would LOVE this place! And thanks! I was using a new to me camera, so I think when I go back I’ll be able to get even better pictures. See you there! 🙂

  • Julie Gillies Grose

    I went there once! Wow, did you actually climb all the way up? I know you don’t like heights and all! And the guy who owns/runs the place is a hoot!

  • Lou (Linda)

    Yeah, I climbed all the way up. Inside was no problem. But being on the top of that rickety creaky building was slightly unnerving, for both Mitchell and me! “Don’t stand behind me, and don’t touch me without telling me you’re gonna touch me” were my instructions to him. He totally understood my fear and was sooooo good about it! Coming down that first landing was kinda scary. “I’ll hold your purse while you come down, will that help?” he wanted to know. So cute! And YES, the guy who runs the place IS a hoot! Perfect word for him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

