No Quality OR Quantity

“The moral progress of a nation and its greatness should be judged by the way it treats its animals.”
– Mahatma Gandhi

While I think that perhaps Gandhi had a point, I wonder if he ever imagined that we in the United States (and other western nations) would squander the amount of resources that we do on our pets.  I am sure he was including food animals in his statement as well, maybe even wild animals, and so I believe that if the United State’s greatness was judged by the way we treat our animals we’d probably not be considered so great.

But I don’t agree so much with Gandhi.  I think a country’s greatness should be measured by the quality and the quantity of its toilet paper.  America is truly the land of toilet paper milk and honey. 

Have you ever traveled internationally?  If you have, depending on where you went, you will probably be nodding your head in agreement with me when I say that the U.S. has the awesomest and most available toilet paper that the world has to offer.  How often in a foreign country is there no T.P. (let ALONE seat covers) in the airport?  Is there EVER T.P. in the bathroom at the gas station (if there IS a bathroom available for public use at the gas station)?  At restaurants where there often IS T.P., isn’t it often rough and oddly colored?  You know what I’m talkin’ about!  Do any of you, like *I* do, always have a roll of T.P. in a ziplock tucked in your backpack when traveling out of the country??  (And wet wipes, too).  The worst toilet paper I ever used was in St. Petersburg, Russia, about 10 years ago.  It was milky grayish purple, unevenly cut, and about a #180 grit.  More like crepe paper.  Pretty much like this, only change the color:

I had to look through most of the stalls to find even that.  And this was at a cultural and performing arts center!  The best non-American T.P. I have ever used was in Malawi, Africa.  Malawi aspires for greatness and realizes that without great T.P., this is a pipe dream.

I recently watched “Sicko” for the first time.  I do not plan on dissecting all of the issues and problems in and about that movie.  Save one smallish little thing.  Michael Moore holds Cuba up as a bastion of excellence in socialized health care.  But what I want to know is, how can a country that runs out of toilet paper even begin to reeeeealllly be considered great in the health care arena???   The Cuban government slashed the amount of imports it’s allowing and has fallen short of the raw materials needed to keep its citizens in T.P.  These beleaguered Cuban citizens may not see it on the shelves of the local CommuMart again until NOVEMBER!!!  The government is encouraging people to use cigar wrappers as an alternative.  How hygienic can that possible be?  Oh, and in case you missed it, that also means they are encouraging smoking.  Just how many cigars do the parents of a family of four need to smoke in order to keep up with the toilet paper needs?  It’s too bad that Michael Moore wasn’t making his film during a T.P. shortage…perhaps his take on things might have been a little bit different.

Can a country who rations and runs out of T.P. really enjoy unlimited access to top-notch health care?  I somehow doubt it.  So let’s just stop comparing our health care to theirs.  And BTW (by the way), most of westernized and socialized europe doesn’t have such great T.P. either.

I’m just saying…

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

8 responses to “No Quality OR Quantity

  • wonderlandhwy

    You really topped it with this post! I have to strongly agree with you. The U.S. is by far the most sanitary country ever. I took my son out of the country once and the entire time I was on edge… No don’t touch that, ugh.. don’t touch that, don’t put those hands in your mouth, wait let me help you so you don’t have to touch that…. I was so over that vacation. (my husband couldn’t understand why I couldn’t relax.. LOL)

    On the mention of Michael Moore and his film Sicko, I never understood fully why he praised Cuba’s Healthcare system either. First off, he didn’t do a good job comparing the U.S. to countries with similar population. The entire time only comparing the U.S. to countries with definitely less than half the amount of population. Not to mention comparing healthcare over periods of time. For example, back in the 50’s to the 80’s, women were dying left and right of cancers that were not considered terminal in the U.S. Perhaps, Michael Moore received his information from Castro himself.

    My father has a roll of T.P. sitting on his desk and the entire roll has been printed with the face of Castro. The label says “Haga su sueño una realidad” (“Make your wish come true”!) I wonder what would happen if I sent thousands of rolls to Cuban citizens. (Do you think I’d be hunted down by the Obama administration? LOL)

    Toilet paper, tooth paste, and water….

  • wonderlandhwy

    On second thought…. Has Cuba really ever had an excess of T.P.?

    I never mentioned that I am first generation as a Cuban American!

  • Lou (Linda)

    I doubt that they ever have. And you are a Cuban American? Love it. I love Cubans. I spent three weeks in Cuba some years ago and thought that the Cuban people were wonderful. Beautiful in so many ways. I especially loved how there really seemed to be a total absence of any type of racism. They all seemed “in it together”, ya know??

  • wonderlandhwy

    Well, I know a lot of cubans and I wish I could say they were all absent of racism. Every race does have its diversity. However, living under communism does have an effect on people. You probably learn quick to stick together… or else.
    I’m glad to hear you love cubans… especially since that means you love me! ;]
    I am flattered! Haha LOL

  • Kasbos

    You hit it on the head. As I always enjoy your posts, this one had me thinking back to my favorite and least favorite toilet paper scenarios while traveling internationally. The best, by far, was in Singapore. They often use Kleenex (of course, you don’t flush it) and give away little packets of 8 or 10 soft large squares of the stuff every single time you pay for a public toilet! The worst ever was in India (I cannot lump India as a whole, but my experience of India). For about 6 weeks, one summer, we resorted to using our song books and the wonderful SOS devotional books that came with us with our mission organization…you know the one. We figured it was better than bare handing it. That was one of the closest bonding experiences I’ve ever participated in. Ah, the memories. Thanks for the walk down memory lane.

  • Lou (Linda)

    Oh, yeah, I KNOW the organization!!! That’s so funny!

    I was recently remembering (and somewhere I have a picture of it) when I was in Ecuador and used a little outhousy sort of place. I was taken aback when I noticed that in the trash can used for refuse (no flushing!) were many of the smallest paper money denominations that had been used as toilet paper. When I asked why, I learned that the sucre was so devalued, that it was cheaper to use the money as T.P. than it was to buy T.P.! Imagine that!!!!

    Glad you enjoyed this post! My nephew just recently returned from a mission trip to Russia and actually brought some of the T.P. back. “Just like the stuff in the picture” he told me! 🙂

  • Shawniqua

    Astute and perfect post.

  • Robert Shumake

    Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    Robert Shumake Paul Nicoletti

Leave a Reply

