Time Does Not Heal All Wounds

Eighteen years ago today I was at work.  I called to check on my best friend/sister-in-law who was ready to give birth to her first child any day.  She was doing great but was experiencing an uncontrollable urge to, well, to put it as delicately as possible, have a bowel movement.  “DON’T PUSH, and get to the hospital!!” I told her.  Not long after that Richard arrived.  WHAT a cutie.  He was named in honor of his two grandfathers, Richard and Daniel.  A first grandchild and grandson for the both of them.  I was a very excited and proud first-time auntie.

Four years ago today I was working my last, and for the most part, rather uneventful shift in the ER.  I had turned in my resignation and was planning my move from Los Angeles to Colorado which was to take place in just a month.  I was excited about the new life which awaited me and all the adventures I was to have.  And I was thinking of my oldest nephew, Richard, who was on vacation with friends but was turning 14.

Just a couple of hours before my last shift was to end I got the phone call that didn’t change any of that, but changed absolutely everything.

Instead of long and tearful good-byes with my co-workers, I started the longest and most tearful good-bye of my life.  One that, as of today, has lasted four years.

I no longer count the time Connie has been gone in minutes, or hours, or days, or weeks, or even in months, but in years.  It’s still surreal to me.  I miss her every minute.

Congratulations on your 18th birthday Dicky Dan.  Your mother would have loved to see you and the man you have become.

I love you both, to the ends of the earth and to the highest heaven.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

5 responses to “Time Does Not Heal All Wounds

  • richandmaybeluke

    This is Luke.
    Richard’s birthday is the 29th?! I had no idea.

  • wonderlandhwy

    I know I’m a familiar commenter on most of your political blogs, however I just wanted you to know that even your dearest and most heart felt blogs really hit home for me.

    I believe that love felt is truly the most precious gift that humankind could ever receive or experience. And love is not something that can be confined with limits or time restraints, Love is truly timeless….

  • Lou (Linda)

    I always appreciate your thoughtful comments. I agree…love is truly timeless.

  • Author

    I just came across this post ~ missed it whenyou wrote it. Those we love never get forgotten do they? As you say: Time does not heal all wounds.

    Time does not bring relief …

    Time does not bring relief; you all have lied
    Who told me time would ease me of my pain!
    I miss him in the weeping of the rain;
    I want him at the shrinking of the tide;
    The old snows melt from every mountain-side,
    And last year’s leaves are smoke in every lane;
    But last year’s bitter loving must remain
    Heaped on my heart, and my old thoughts abide!
    There are a hundred places where I fear
    To go, … so with his memory they brim!
    And entering with relief some quiet place
    Where never fell his foot or shone his face
    I say, “There is no memory of him here!”
    And so stand stricken, so remembering him!
    ~

    by Edna St Vincent Millay (1892 – 1950)

  • Lou (Linda)

    No, they never are forgotten.

    ESVM really pulls those heartstrings in her words…

    I’ve never seen this poem. It’s beautiful. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

