Photo Friday – “Unlucky”

“If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all” – George Jetson

In “honor” of the second of three Friday the Thirteenths we will have this year, today’s Photo Friday topic is “unlucky”.

Recently my friend Donna visited me from California.  It was her first time out here.  We had a GREAT time!  This visit, though five days long, was about a month too short.  We never have enough time, no matter how much time we have!

A reasonable and lovely drive’s distance away from where I live is a delightful little Victorian mining town called “Cripple Creek”.  They have legalized gambling there.  It’s like a little Las Vegas, really.  All the lights, and bells, and clangings of Vegas, but at about a millionth the size.  Donna loves her some Vegas, so we, along with my sister Whitney, decided to make a day of it and go throw some money down a rathole.

I say throw money down a rathole, because I never, NEVER, EVER win at gambling.  So I try to make my 20 or 30 bucks last as long as possible while I watch other people win!  🙂   BITTER!!!!  Donna in the end didn’t lose too much, but she did win during the course of the day.  Whitney it seems won at every machine she played.  I think she won the most on the penny slots, which is crazy, but true.

Here are Donna (left) and Whitney (right) in fronto of the Brass Ass…

The Brass Ass by you.

If you’re playing, don’t forget to add your link to Mr. Linky.  If you’re not, please visit the other players and drop a comment!

Coming up on Photo Friday:

Friday 20th March 2009: Author’s choice: Photo Gadgets (back by popular demand! Author herself!) Photos you’ve gadgetised or photo-shopped etc!

Friday 27th March: Author’s choice: FRIENDS, I HAZ ‘EM! (a  selection of photos of friends – you could use a mosaic maker if you choose – or any other photo gadget if they don’t want recognisable pics of themselves on the internet)

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

3 responses to “Photo Friday – “Unlucky”

  • Author

    Lou,

    Great to see you in Photo Friday again! Nice entry too – that’s a great pic of your friends.

    I love the new photo of you with short hair in the sidebar – it really does suit you. Intestingly you look much younger with short hair than long hair (an added bonus!) It’s made me relize that I shouldn’t be nervous about cutting my own hair … but not yet!

    Jan

  • iveystory

    that is a great photo. I love the window with is say very funny.

  • spatulahandle

    I’ve been to Cripple Creek Colorado…in fact I just found a picture a few days ago of my dad, brothers, and I panning for fools gold. That is one of the funnest places we have visited. I think I was 13 or 14 when we were there last. I bet it’s even more fun now. Neat picture and glad to see you doing Photo Friday again.
    I’ll post that picture on my blog so that you can see it.

Leave a Reply

