Photo Friday – “Grandparents”

I haven’t posted for Photo Friday in some time.  I picked a “bad” Friday to get back to it as I have not a single picture that I myself took of any of my grandparents.  All of my grandparents have passed away.  I never knew either of my grandfathers.  I was blessed to have had my grandmothers in my life until I was in my 20’s and 30’s.  But they, too, are now gone.

Some years ago my dad went through tremendous time and untold expense to put together large binders for all of us filled with our family tree, important documents, photographs, etc.  Since I have no pictures of my own, I took a picture of one of the photocopied pictures in the binder.  My parents and all my grandparents at my parents’ wedding.

Parents, Grandparents by you.

L to R:  “Tex” and Marcile (my maternal grandparents), my mother Cheryl, my father Richard, Edith and A.J. (my paternal grandparents)

My mother’s mother was an amazingly gifted seamstress.  My father’s mother, a fabulous baker.  I loved both of my grandmothers very much.  I wish so very much I had known my grandfathers.

When I was little, I thought my mother’s mother was mean.  She kind of was back then.  She would make me wear barrettes in my hair when she would come over to babysit and I hated barrettes.  I would take them out and get in trouble for it.  Once, when I was maybe four, she’d had it with me taking the barrettes out and sternly warned me about keeping my hands off of them or else.  So I rubbed them out in the carpet, without touching them with my hands.  She was not amused!!! 

I was one of many grandchildren.  As each of the grandchildren grew up and married, she would give them a wedding gift of handmade items – sewn and crocheted.  GORGEOUS things.  She developed OBS (Organic Brain Syndrome) and knew she was losing her ability to remember how to sew and crochet, so she made wedding gifts for all the as unyet to wed grandchildren and put them away for when the time would come.  She wanted to make sure that none of us were left out.

If you are playing, don’t forget to put the link to your entry into Mr. Linky.  If you aren’t playing, please check out the other players’ work by clicking on Mr. Linky to get to those links!

Coming up on Photo Friday:

13th February 2009: Author’s choice: Valentine Special

20th February 2009: Author’s choice: Men at Work

27th February 2009: Author’s choice: My favourite photo(s) (and a few words on why!)

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

4 responses to “Photo Friday – “Grandparents”

  • iveystory

    that is a great story. I love the barrette story my daughter dose the same thing I put them in her hair and 2 min later they are out of her hair. Sometimes I get mad at her. She is 18 mos she dont know any better.

    I am glad that you are back welcome back

  • Author

    Welocme back to Photo Friday – and what a great post. I love the pics – they are such a wonderful glimpse into history.
    I have to admit I don’t know what barrettes are! I am assuming they are a hair ornament but we don’t have them in England (UK). Do let me know – have you one you photograph and post on your blog? You needn’t wear it though!!!!!

  • Lou (Linda)

    Hair clips. Not sure what you might call them there! I’ll look about and see if I have a picture wearing one! 🙂

    Hoping to be better at “my friday commitment” as my dad calls it!

  • Tall T

    Love the story. Welcome back you have been missed!!!

Leave a Reply

