Photo Friday – “Phantasmagoria”

Today’s Photo Friday is entitled: Phantasmagoria

chosen by: CordieB

WHAT?  You don’t know what Phantasmagoria is?  😉  Well, I have used the word to describe wildly outrageous things, or incredibly bright colors and fabulous patterns all mixed together…that sort of thing.  As in “WOW!  That’s fantasmagorical!!”  I sort of thought it was a made up word.  But, I found out that it’s actually a real word with definititions, and everything!  It’s an awesome word, really.

 phan·tas·ma·go·ri·a  (fn-tzm-gôr, -gr-)

1. a. A fantastic sequence of haphazardly associative imagery, as seen in dreams or fever.

     b. A constantly changing scene composed of numerous elements.

2. Fantastic imagery as represented in art. 

I can hardly believe it myself, but while thinking about what I might have in my existing photo inventory that might reflect the spirit of this word, this photo popped into my brain.  And it’s a photo that I don’t have to do a darn thing to!!!  Which is good, because I didn’t think I was going to have time to create something at all!  This picture was cropped out of another picture, but I’d cropped it last year, so it was allll ready to go.  No real effort required in the now!!

I took this picture last summer in London in an undergroundish sort of skate park/graffiti park.  It may look like three pictures edited into one, but it actual is a simple straightforward untouched photograph of three walls and their intersections.  The walls were all painted out by different artists but they come together in a way that I think is phantasmagorical!!

Here’s the original!  (I like the original, too, but the above photo has a trompe l’oeil feel to it, which I really like.)

I’ve had dreams that are a lot like this…

Please check out the other participants’ work.  I will add links as they become available. 

A Curious State of Affairs

Tall Chick’s Tales

Looking in the Mirror

And this is my last Photo Friday for a couple of months.  But as soon as I’m back from Africa, I hope to jump right back into the meme!  I have been creating posts that will publish intermittently in my absence.  So, even though I’ll be gone, my blog will update every so often, so check back!  One of the posts is a straight on close up of the middle pink wall in this picture.  Please feel free to continue to comment on my posts.  However, the comments won’t be approved until I come back! 

I’ll miss my blog, that’s for certain!  🙂

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

7 responses to “Photo Friday – “Phantasmagoria”

Leave a Reply

