“Self Portrait” – Photo Friday

Today’s Photo Friday is entitled: “Self Portrait″

Our challenge this week was to create a self portrait by utilizing one of the following gadgets!  Fun!

Hockneyizer  Create a unique photo collage in the style of the artist David Hockney

Warholizer  Create an iconic pop photo! Inspired by Warhol’s famous paintings of Marilyn Monroe

Framer  Choose from tons of unique frames to spice up a photo

Motivator  Make your own inspirational, funny, parody, sports or other motivational self portraits

Mosaic Maker  Make a mosaic

Palette Generator  Automagically generate a harmonious color palette based on the colors in a photo – perfect for design work

Lolcat Generator  This gadget will allow you to bring out your humerous side by adding a funny caption to any photo of yourself

This was a very well-timed challenge as I got my hair cut a couple of days ago.  My hair is pretty thick, and sort of curly.  I wanted it much shorter for my mission this summer.  Having it long is easy in that I can just pull it up and out of the way into a ponytail, but it’s time-consuming when it comes to keeping it clean since baths are done out of a bucket and getting cream rinse all out of all that hair takes too much water.  And frankly the heat in Florida combined with all that hair can really make a girl hot and uncomfortable. 

Joanne (my friend and stylist!) discussed my objectives:

  • I need to be able to just wash, run my fingers through it, and go
  • It needs to be long enough so that I can go for a couple of months without a trim and have it still look good
  • I wanted it shorter in back, longer in front, and of a length where I could tuck it behind my ears

We looked at some pictures that had elements of what I was looking for, and then, out came the scissors!  Joanne went right to work cutting off a foot long ponytail that I hope to donate to Locks of Love.  It already looked cute! 

I love the final product.  I can wear it natural, or blow it out straight.  I had in mind to take a picture of the end result to use for this challenge.  I forgot my camera.  Joanne took some, but I can’t use those for this.  So I got out my cell phone and set up the shot, had Joanne hold the camera, and I hit the button.  I  had a second to get back into the frame before the picture would be taken, and I was absolutely cracking up.  I decided to use that picture.

HOWEVER, last night, no matter what I tried to do, I could not get onto the internet.  My connection was fine, there was nothing out of the ordinary, so I don’t know what the deal is.  SOOOOooo, even though it’s agains the rules of my company, I decided I’d just do it at work, which is where I am at…currently on lunchbreak.  I got my cell pic up onto Flickr okay and then created an account so I could use Hockney’s gadgets.

BUUUUUT, I couldn’t get any of the gadgets to work.  I think I’m blocked or something on this work computer.  Oh well, so, here’s my self portrait, but it is embarrassingly un-gadgetified for this challenge!

I have to clock back in.  I’ll be back to finish this up hopefully soon!

🙂

Later…

Yay!  My internet was working wonderfully when I got home from work today.  Ergo, I am now adding my REAL honest to goodness Hockneyized self portrait to this entry!  Woo Hoo!  Here you go! 

And a motivational poster, just for good measure…

Please don’t forget to check out the work of the other participants!

Sky Windows & Idea Jump! & A Curious State of Affairs & Looking In The Mirror

If I have missed any players, please leave a comment and let me know so that I can link to you.

Next week’s Photo Friday for 16th May has been chosen by CuriousC: 

“Doors, Doorways, & Entries…. to the soul, the house, a city, whatever…”

Future Photo Friday titles:

Friday 23th May : Title by Julie: Emotion

Friday 30th May : Title by CordieB: Phantasmagoria

Friday 6th June : Title by Author: Diptychs

(or Triptychs if you prefer to use 3 images)

 

 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

11 responses to ““Self Portrait” – Photo Friday

  • Author

    Linda,

    First of all what a fabulously happy photo – you look really great! Gadgets or no gadgets this is a super photograph because it is so natural and radiates joy.

    How lovely to be donating your hair to “locks of Love” – a wonderful charity that help those with hair loss (as a result of chemotherapy and the like) to regain their confidence with a real hair wig. I know several people who have benefitted from just such generosity at a time in their life when they felt really low. So well done!

    A lovely story, a lovely photo, a lovely charitable thing to do …. You’re just great! 🙂

    I’m so glad you explained Locks of Love. I meant to do that, and it slipped my mind, so THANKS! And it’s gooood hair. I hope it will make a pretty wig… — Lou

  • CuriousC

    and yet your laughter is infectious! I’m laughing, too, WITH you not AT you… Sorry for the dern compooter problems!

  • Photo Friday: Self Portrait « Idea Jump!

    […] Lou(Linda) at BlahBlahBlog got her hair cut!    (and OOPS!   I realize I used pics that I myself didn’t take – except the first one…  I DID take the one of me and Shogun.) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Just Suppose…Photo Friday: PortraitPHOT 167 – Shooting Assignment #1Self Portrait Thursday […]

  • skywindows

    Your picture made me giggle because I can hear your laughter through your photo.

    I love the shorter hair! It looks great on you!!!

    Thanks for donating to Locks of love. SO many people benefit from this fabulous service!

  • CuriousC

    I’m glad I came back to see if you had a chance to ‘play’. YEP! fun, fun wasn’t it!?

    Locks of Love is awesome. I have never had hair long enough or maybe not quite made such a long to short haircut to make it possible. NIFTY!

  • Author

    Lou,

    I love your additional Photo Friday pics! The Hockneyizer pic is such fun! And the motivational poster is awesome – I love the text you’ve chosen for it! 🙂

    PS: Are we going to get news about your planned trip? I’m wondering if I’ve missed a post somewhere … unless it’s secretive!

  • Cordieb

    Great pics. So full of giving, joy and laughter! You’re such a blessing! Locks of Love – someone will be the recipient of beautiful locs. You have beautiful hair, so thick! Love your new doo. Short and sassy! Blessings to you and yours.. . CordieB.

  • Scott's Joanne

    What a fun time that was! Thanks for trusting me to “do the deed”!
    Love you! ~Jo

  • Julie

    Hey, Linda you look so cute! (I must say though I see a hint of your mother in you with short hair….not a bad thing, of course, just more of your mother :))

    Wow, that was a lot of hair!

  • Photo Friday - “Photo Gadgets” « Blah Blah Blog

    […] week we are revisiting photo gadgets on Photo Friday.  I really wanted to Obamafy myself, but was unsuccessful with my attempts.  And I love the […]

Leave a Reply

