I Wish…

…that the talking heads on TV and radio would pronounced “YOUR” like “yore”, and not “yer” when saying things like:

“I agree with your analysis…”. 

Saying “yore analysis” sounds so much better than “yer analysis” which sounds exactly like “urinalysis” and I don’t want to hear about “urinalysis” when I’m trying to get election results and not lab results…

It bugs me.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

5 responses to “I Wish…

  • Author

    Aha! The way you prefer is called “received pronunciation” and is the true Queen’s English. RP is an accent (a form of pronunciation), not a dialect (a form of vocabulary and grammar). It may show a great deal about the social and educational background of a person who uses English.

    Glad you like speakin’ proper!

  • CuriousC

    Although… after my laughter died down, I do sense that urinalysis could be an accurate term for politics… Goodness, I’m going to be hearing this used now that you’ve called attn to it!

  • Lou (Linda)

    Just trying to do my best to better educate my fellow americans!

    And CuriousC? Sorry for putting this particular jewel into your head! 🙂

  • nicholas

    yes! my seventh and eigth grade theatre teacher pointed this out to us. i had never noticed it before, but now it bothers me to no end. when i sometimes try to correct people (which isn’t very often), they don’t seem to understand what i’m telling them. they’re convinced that they said it that way. ah well, i’m sure i slip up a few times.

  • Lou (Linda)

    I’m sure I slip up sometimes, too. But I think it’s important to try, don’t you? I’m glad I’m not the only one it bothers…makes me feel just a little bit less grammatically OCD! 🙂

Leave a Reply

