“Black and White” – Photo Friday

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

Photo Friday

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Black and White © Jan Marshall   

I love black and white photography.  (I already have a post titled “I Love Black and White” in fact!)  In the days when I used to draw, my favorite media were charcoal, pencils, and india ink.  I love black and white in general.  Often my color photographs will exhibit black and white qualities.

“Black and White” can be interpreted SOOOOO many ways in this setting.  I was thinking of doing something super-creative and unexpected.  Nahhhhhh.  🙂

On one my cousin Julie’s and my many little road trips, we happened upon these fantastic weeds in a park.  I was so disappointed that I couldn’t get my macro setting working on my old digital.  None of the pictures came out clearly…at least the part I wanted to be clear didn’t come out clearly.  The shape of the weeds was so wonderful, that I thought I might be able to make something interesting out of them by digitally manipulating them…

 

This image has a monochromatic grayscale feel to it to start with, so I converted it to grayscale:

 

 Didn’t care for the result.  Too blah.  Still doesn’t change the lack of focus and now it had lost the warmth of the golden hues.  I wondered what it would look like if I converted it to a true black and white picture:

Loved it!  Reminded me of a Jackson Pollack painting, with a twist…or is that with a curly-q?

Be sure to check out the other participants’ work!

 A Curious State of Affairs

A big welcome to CuriousC of the blog Idea Jump!

Just For Fun

Sky Windows

I’ll be adding links to any other entries as they are posted.  We’re growing! 

Consider joining us next week for the great topic “Amazing Architecture”!

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

11 responses to ““Black and White” – Photo Friday

Leave a Reply

