Tit For Tat – Photo Friday

Here’s my next entry in Lady Luck’s (of the blog “A Curious State of Affairs”) Photo Friday, and on Friday, actually, this time!  🙂  This Friday’s topic is “Tit for Tat”.

 Whenever I hear the word “tat”, I think of my nephew, Mitchell.  For years he couldn’t make the hard-C (or K, for that matter) sound.  So, kids were “tids”, and cats were “tats”.  He called his cousins “my tids”.  So cute.  He doesn’t do it anymore, but you know how it is, when little kids say funny things, those things often become part of the family vernacular.  And so it is with tids, and tats.  One of these days when he grows up I’m sure he’ll ask “why do you call my cousins “tids”, and why do you call cats “tats”?  We’ll tell him it’s because of him, and he’ll laugh because he won’t remember that he ever did.  My nephew Richard just shakes his head when we speak of “yogs” and “who did this to mes?”.  Thanks to my sister Whitney, the Pacific Ocean is “the oceanbath”.  I am the proud contributor of “girt” and “lellyaphont” for skirt and elephant, but thankfully only my mother uses THOSE anymore!

I tell you this so that I can share that I had to get beyond my instinctual response to the word “tat” so that I could participate in this meme in a way that had nothing to do with my own “tat”!

Which brings me to the actual subject matter of “Tit for Tat”…I know…FINALLY, you say!  🙂

These are coasters crocheted for me by Brenda, a family friend.

My grandmomther (my mother’s mother) was an amazing crocheter (among other talents).  She crocheted using very small guage string.  To watch her, you would think she was tattting lace (Aha, the connection to today’s topic!).  She made amazing creations out of balls of inconsequential looking string.  She even crocheted KING SIZED bed coverings!  On a few of Brenda’s visits to “the ranch” where my grandmother lived, she had my grandmother teach her how to crochet.  I don’t know that my grandmomther passed along her talent to anyone else.  I’d already failed my attempts at knitting and counted cross-stitching, so I didn’t think crocheting would be something I’d excel at.  But Brenda sure did. 

As my siblings and cousins would marry, my grandmother would crochet them gifts.  At one point she realized she probably wouldn’t be around for all of our weddings so she made up gifts for those grandkids in advance.  When she died, those of us who had not yet wed received these boxes.  Mine is still packed away.  I was thinking about that box as I was contemplating my subject matter.  It’s been a long time since my grandmother passed away.  I wonder if she’d mind if I opened her gift and used it without waiting to get married! 

These little coasters from Brenda are the first gift of her crocheting I recieved from her.  She has continued to be a prolific crocheter, probably rivaling my grandmother’s talent.  She too, uses the fine guage string and turns it into gorgeous creations.  And it looks like she is tatting, too!  I chose these coasters to photograph as they were the most accesible of all of Brenda’s and my grandma’s creations at the moment. 

Click HERE to link to the “home” entry for Photo Friday.  Check out the other entries.  And don’t forget, you too can play!  🙂

Next week’s topic is “Siesta”.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

2 responses to “Tit For Tat – Photo Friday

  • Lady Luck

    Just beautiful crocheting – I went to evening class to learn how to crochet but was never that good.

    And what a lovely family story. The bit about your grandmother making up the gift boxes before she died made me smile but also a tear role down my cheek. You see, when my dearest closest friend was terminally ill with cancer – she asked me if I would do something for her. She wanted me to buy gifts for the grandchildren she would never ever get to see, who were not even conceived yet. She was just 47 years old when she died. I miss her still – and always will. She has 3 grandchildren now – born many years after her death. One has her intelligence, one her smile and one her sweet charm.

    What a wonderful treasure to have from your grandmother – not the gift itself even – but the fact that she cared enough to want to do it. Such a selfless act. God bless her.

  • skywindows

    My grandmother and mother both crochet too, I just love getting the things they crochet for me. I love photo too!

    I have posted mine as well:

    http://skywindows.wordpress.com/2008/01/25/a-tit-for-a-tat-photo-friday/

Leave a Reply

