Rough Start!

Week one of my “quest” to get in shape for the Obstacle Course this summer is over.  Vickie had plans for today, so we decided to hike yesterday instead.  When my alarm clock went off in the morning, I just groaned.  I so very much did not want to get out of my nice warm bed and go out into the cold to go hiking. 

It’s been a very cold week here, topped off by a lovely snowstorm Friday night.  I got a few inches where I live, I imagined that Waldo Canyon got even more.  I wasn’t so sure about hiking in fresh snow.  Because of the cold I only managed to walk two days during the week, about two miles each day.

Anyhow I crawled out of bed and got dressed for the morning.  Long underwear, jeans, thick socks, hiking boots, a long sleeved shirt, a flannel shirt, a big hooded sweatshirt, a windbreaker, hat, and gloves.  Lots of layers!  I wasn’t sure I could bend my joints good enough through all the layers in order to be able to hike!  In my rush to get ready, I ran up the stairs to get a small wallet to carry only the essentials and missed my footing on the top stair.  I crashed headlong into the corner of a wall on my landing.  The wall caught my ear and I hit the area of my head behind my ear square on the edge.  Stars.  Lots of stars.  I grabbed my head and rolled on the floor praying that there wouldn’t be blood when I pulled them back.  I DID NOT want to be in the ER getting stitches.  Fortunately no blood, but I could already feel the lump forming.  Ouch.  Rough start to the morning!

It was about 10 degrees when we started our hike.  So cold it just sucked the air right out of my lungs.  I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to make it.  And hiking in fresh snow is like hiking in sand.  Easily twice the work.  Under the snow the path was icy, so there was a lot of stabilization and near falling going on throughout the hike.  BUT we did the full four miles, and we did it faster than last time.  I was surprised by that.  On the way back it had warmed up some so we could breathe easier and the views in the bright sunlight of the freshly snowed mountains was exquisite!

Part of our routine is to stop at Starbucks on the way home for a warm drink.  When we pulled up to pay at the window, we were informed that the car in front of us had already paid for our order!  Why, we wondered aloud to the lady at the window.  She shrugged and said she didn’t know, but it happened a lot.  Note to self:  pay it forward this way sometime.  What a wonderful and unexpected treat!

So, one week down, however many to go.  It looks to be warmer this coming week, so I can get out and walk more. 

Next week we’ll do the added 3 1/2 mile loop on our trail for a total of 7 miles.  I hope it’s not too slippery!  Hiking on slipperyness is HARD!

And while I survived my fall into the wall without needing stitches, I am having searing, electrical headaches superficially on that side of my head.  Fun.  Hope they don’t last much longer.  They HURT!

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

3 responses to “Rough Start!

  • Shirley

    Hi, Linda.

    I’m telling you I felt skinnier and “fitter” just by reading about your jaunt. You must feel elated to have tackled such a task.

    Thanks for the Starbucks story. I’ll remember that…and someday pass along such a sweet and unexpected gift.

    Love you in Jesus-

    Congratulations! Looks as though you’re finishing up your second year of blogging. Not many do…lazy rascals…they drop out and deny us of that furtive glance into their interesting cranium. 🙂

  • Lou (Linda)

    Hi Shirley! Yes indeedy! It was my two year blogging anniversary on the 15th of this month! I love it and can’t imagine not having my blog in my life! 😉 It has been a good friend, and a wonderful introduction into the lives and thoughts of such interesting people all over the world. Here’s to many more years of productive blogging for the both of us!

  • Bay Area Bev

    See! See how the enemy tried to literally make you stumble and thwart your good intentions. GOOD FOR YOU that you still went. Keep fighting the good fight. Finish the race! I said I’d do it with you from here. Guess I’m several miles behind already! Oops, gotta run!, err, walk. C ya!

Leave a Reply

