The hardest part isn’t getting out of the boat…

Sometimes God asks us to do really difficult things. 

Consider Peter.  He and other disciples were in a boat on the sea of Galilee in the middle of a storm.  Their small fishing boat was being rocked and buffeted by winds and waves.  They were in fear for their lives, but the boat was their little enclave of relative safety from the maelstrom.  Fisherman don’t voluntarily leave their boats for the churning waters.  Do they?  Not usually. 

But then they see a figure walking towards them in the waves.  It was Jesus.

24 But the boat was now in the midst of the sea, distressed by the waves; for the wind was contrary.

 25 And in the fourth watch of the night he came unto them, walking upon the sea.

 26 And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a ghost; and they cried out for fear.

 27 But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.

 28 And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto the upon the waters.

 29 And he said, Come. And Peter went down from the boat, and walked upon the waters to come to Jesus.

 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried out, saying, Lord, save me.

 31 And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and took hold of him, and saith unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

 32 And when they were gone up into the boat, the wind ceased.  (Matthew 14:24-32 NIV)

Was it hard for Peter to step out of that boat when Jesus called him to?  I’m sure it must have been.  PEOPLE CAN’T WALK ON WATER.  I’m sure Peter was well aware of that.  😉

But getting out of the boat was the easy part.  Anyone can get out of a boat.  It’s the impossible tasks that follow getting out of the boat that are the hard part. 

Getting out of the boat takes bravery.

Walking on water takes faith and belief.

At times in our lives, God calls us to “get out of our boat”.  Some people do, some don’t.  God calls us out of our boats in order to do amazing things, impossible things, walk on water sorts of things, things that we simply could not do if not for Jesus.

When he calls you out of your boat, don’t be afraid.  Get out of the boat.  Then what?  Don’t look down.  Don’t look around.  Keep your eyes set on Jesus.  Don’t miss out on your opportunity to walk on water because you look down and see that you’ve been asked to do that what is for you the impossible. 

The end of the story has both Peter and Jesus back in the boat, and the winds are calmed.  We aren’t asked to do the impossible forever.  There is calm after the storm.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

5 responses to “The hardest part isn’t getting out of the boat…

  • Bay Area Bev

    Heard this in a sermon once, and it stuck. You’ll like, you’ll wish you’d thought of it and had included it, you’ll go back and add it to your blog entry. 😉 Ready? Here it is: “Don’t be a boat potato.” Do you love it?!

    Ha! Yes! I love it! But I don’t need to add it…you already did! Thanks! (Long time no see, btw!) — Lou

  • Lady Luck

    I love this post – it is so inspiring – in fact I’m going to make sure I am NOT a boat potoato! (isn’t that just a great remark: Don’t be a boat potato”?)

    As it happened earlier today I e-mailed a friend about a difficult obstacle I have to overcome in my life this year. I said:

    “The sea is stormy and the boat is rocking but I am determined to have a go”

    No sooner had I sent the e-mail than I read your post. How appropriate was that? it reminded me of something Paramahansa Yogananda once said:

    “As soon as the devotee is willing to go even to the ends of the earth for spiritual enlightenment, his guru appears nearby.”

    Thank you for the inspiration.

  • Lou (Linda)

    Wow! Appropriate INDEED! Love the P.Y. quote. So true.

    Glad to be inspiring…thanks for the thoughtful comments you leave.

  • Bay Area Bev

    Oh, and how could I forget. My sister (who by the way also attends the Sat. night service…don’t know if you’re at the same Woodman campus though) and I were just emailing about a quote by Ray Stedman, “The boat’s not gonna sink and the storm’s not gonna last forever.” Also good for this entry of yours.

    On another note. Enjoy your beautiful hikes! My sister took me to Barr Trial (oops, is that a typo?!) and I thought I’d pass out! But then again, “it must be the altitude”. One of the first things I did when arriving to attend my year of bible school in Estes Park (in the 80’s) was what many of us at the school did. I had a baseball shirt (very big in the 80’s) silkscreened with the school logo on the front and a ready-made quote (proving that a lot of people got it printed too) on the back that read, “It must be the altitude.” Enjoy, and plant some caches while you’re out there. God bless your efforts. I’ll do it with you, from here.

  • Lou (Linda)

    Yep! I attend the Woodmen campus services! Another great quote, and from one of the best theologians of our time, Ray Stedman.

    Thanks for your support in my quest for getting into a shape other than round! 🙂

    We do tend to blame it all on the altitude here, don’t we?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

