That black lace bra is Pam’s not Maya’s!

Bear with me.  This is one of those stories that requires a little background information!  My blog reported an interesting sounding referring site to me this morning.  So I clicked on it to find out how that link even came to exist.  What I found was that I showed up on the blogroll of a blog called “the little Bee“.  It looks very interesting, but I can’t read anything but the titles because it’s in arabic or farsii, I’m not sure which.  In addition to my blog, on this blogroll, there were two others.  One called “Journey of Life” is the personal blog of a Vietnamese full time mom/grad student/research assistant who lives in Viet Nam, and the other is called “Integral Options Cafe” and is the blog of a writer/personal trainer from Tuscon, Arizona.  His blog “offers a place to discuss all things related to a Buddhist, integral worldview’.  And then there’s my blog.  Isn’t that a fascinating blogroll?  I think so.

Anyhow, I glanced at a few of the titles in each blog and read a few entries.  One of the “Journey of Life” entries was titled ‘Maya Angelou’s “What Every Woman Should Have”‘.  I’m not generally a fan of Maya’s.  Don’t ask me why.  I know that ALL women love Maya’s poetry.  But poetry touches the heart in a very special way, and hers doesn’t generally do that to me.  Her style is sometimes clipped, sometimes rambling.  I get lost in her poems, but in not in the good way.  However, I read this poem, and I liked it.  Not so much for style, but for content.  When putting content created by other people into my own blog, I like to try to find something original to link to so that I can give appropriate credit.  So I googled this poem.  While most of the results I found credited Maya for the poem, and in fact credited it as being Maya’s best poem EVER, what I found was that Maya didn’t write it at all.  This is where my journey led me…to Jan Marshall’s blog and her entry “That black lace bra is mine not Maya’s“.  (Yes, yes I did.  I copied her title).

This “poem” was written by Pamela Redmond Satron.  But it wasn’t a poem, it was originally a list.  It was first published in Glamour (magazine) in 1997.  Click HERE for the original list with a 2005 update.  I absolutely love that it was originally published as a list, not a poem.  It was a content piece to start with and not poetry at all!  (The content being what I liked about it in the first place).  Since I have provided a link to the original, I will also post what it was turned into and the credit given to Maya Angelou…

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …
Enough money within her control to move out and rent a place of her own,
even if she never wants to or needs to…

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …
Something perfect to wear if the employer, or date of her dreams wants to see her in an hour…

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE ..
A youth she’s content to leave behind….

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …
A past juicy enough that she’s looking forward to retelling it in her old age….

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …..
A set of screwdrivers, a cordless drill, and a black lace bra…

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …
One friend who always makes her
laugh… and one who lets her cry…

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE ….
A good piece of furniture not previously owned by anyone else in her
family…

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …
Eight matching plates, wine glasses with stems, and a recipe for a meal,that will make her guests feel honored…

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …
A feeling of control over her destiny…

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
How to fall in love without losing herself..

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
how to quit a job, break up with a lover,
and confront a friend without ruining the friendship…

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
When to try harder… and WHEN TO WALK AWAY…

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
That she can’t change the length of her calves,the width of her hips, or the nature of her parents..

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
that her childhood may not have been perfect..but it’s over…

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
What she would and wouldn’t do for love or more…

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
How to live alone… even if she doesn’t like it…

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW..
whom she can trust, whom she can’t,
and why she shouldn’t take it personally…

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
Where to go…be it to her best friend’s kitchen table…or a charming inn in the woods…when her soul needs soothing…

So, this entry has served a few purposes for me.  One:  to share how I spent part of my morning.  Two:  to impart some good words of wisdom to the women of the world.  And Three:  to show how important it is to check your sources AND to be a skeptic.  The chances are good that somewhere along the line what you are hearing was fundamentally changed in some way!

Happy Monday.

Now, go.  Get that cordless drill.

Update 11/17/11  Link to the blog cited as The Little Bee no longer works.  Can’t find the blog anywhere.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

4 responses to “That black lace bra is Pam’s not Maya’s!

Leave a Reply

