Sweet Sixteen…

Is it still a Sweet Sixteen if the 16-year old is not a girl? 

Richard is the oldest of all my nieces and nephews.  And he’s turning 16 today.  Quite a milestone.  How can he be that old already?  How can I be old enough to have a nephew that old? 

This is a day of celebration.  And a day of sorrow, too.  The day that Richard was born was such a happy day.  My parents welcomed their first grandchild.  And I welcomed my first nephew…the son of my big brother and my best friend.  What an amazing gift.  And what a sweet baby he was.  And what a sweet young man he has remained.  But the celebration of the day of his birth is now inextricably linked to the saddest day.  Two years ago today, on Richard’s birthday, his mother passed away.  Today I celebrate the life of a most wonderful child, and I remember the life his most wonderful mother.

There is a part of me that wants to try to keep Richard’s birthday separate from Connie’s death.  But how?  How do you separate the two?  It happened.  And for whatever reason, God chose to link the two events. 

I love you, Richard.  Happy 16th Birthday.  Wish I was there to celebrate with you.  Last summer I was in Zambia on this day.  By this time this summer I’ll be back from Sicily and in Florida.  Perhaps they will let me sneak away to call you.

And, Connie, I miss you.  I can’t believe it’s been two years already.  God has been so merciful to me in your absence. 

A “Richard Quote” to close out this post…

The last time I visited Los Angeles, we did some geocaching.  Because I don’t have a GPS device, I am sort of limited in the types of caches I can go for.  They tend to be more urban in nature so that the satellite maps can guide me.  Geocaching my way was a bit of a letdown for Richard who was used to doing wilderness caches with his Mom.  He informed me of this:

“It’s not Geocaching unless there’s a chance of getting lost or of being attacked by a puma.”

Richard, 03/12/07

You crack me right up!  I’ll be home in a couple of days, so I’ll be talking to you soon.

(posted in absentia)

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

Leave a Reply

