When MY Plans Change…

There is a lesson that God has been teaching me since I was young.  (Well, there’s more than ONE!)  But this particular lesson is, “when my plans change it’s time to pay very close attention”.  Why?  Because that’s often when God’s plan differs from mine.  It’s often the time when God has a special gift in his hands for me.

Since Connie died, I have been more acutely aware of this.  My plan would have been to have Connie in my life, in all our lives, forever.  But that clearly wasn’t God’s plan.  And since she died, in some inexplicable way, I have become more alive.  My life has been overflowing with gifts.  My life itself is a gift.  But God has seen fit to give me just about the best life ever.  I don’t understand it since my life has been one that has been full of tears for many reasons since she died.  Perhaps for me, at this point in my life, that’s where the being more alive lives, in all the tears.

I think that God uses this “change of plan” format in order to give us direction.  It may be that we are on the correct course and it’s simply time to veer left or veer right for a moment and then return to our previous course.  Or we may need to turn hard to the left or hard to the right and continue on in the new direction.  Or it may be that we are in need of a radical course correction because we’ve been doing things only our way and trying to control our own life.

Connie was a hard right turn.  My life’s trajectory was changed forever.

And I recently experienced a “veer right and return to my previous course” sort of event.  I was in Denver earlier this week going to a doctor’s appointment with friends.  The car we were in had a dead battery when we returned to it after the appointment.  Click click click.  As I stood under the building’s awning watching and waiting for security to come and give us a jump, a woman joined me.  I won’t go into the details of what transpired between us, but I had the opportunity to do something for her that was very out of my character, and very out of my comfort zone.  But I was led to be at that place at that very point in time so that I could give her something that she needed.  It was a brief moment in time where, because of a dead battery, my course veered.  And to do what I did for her was something that I needed, too.

When I got home, I read the days’ Oswald Chambers writing.  It was a powerful and timely reminder of how we are to treat these types of moments, and of how God expects us to live our lives. 

INSTANT IN SEASON

By Oswald Chambers in “My Utmost For His Highest”

Be instant in season, out of season.” 2 Timothy 4:2

Many of us suffer from the morbid tendency to be instant “out of season.” The season does not refer to time, but to us – ‘Be instant in season, out of season,” whether we feel like it or not. If we do only what we feel inclined to do, some of us would do nothing for ever and ever. There are unemployables in the spiritual domain, spiritually decrepit people, who refuse to do anything unless they are supernaturally inspired. The proof that we are rightly related to God is that we do our best whether we feel inspired or not.

One of the great snares of the Christian worker is to make a fetish of his rare moments. When the Spirit of God gives you a time of inspiration and insight, you say – “Now I will always be like this for God.” No, you will not, God will take care you are not. Those times are the gift of God entirely. You cannot give them to yourself when you choose. If you say you will only be at your best, you become an intolerable drag on God; you will never do anything unless God keeps you consciously inspired. If you make a god of your best moments, you will find that God will fade out of your life and never come back until you do the duty that lies nearest, and have learned not to make a fetish of your rare moments.

… 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

Leave a Reply

