I’m Dreaming of a White Easter?

Today is Easter.  It was snowing when I woke up.  It’s April 8th and it’s snowing!  Whassupwidat??  It took me about 10 minutes to scrape all the ice off of my car windows this morning.  I was on time for church, but not on time enough to get a seat in the main sanctuary.  Nor was I on time to get a seat in the overflow Stone Chapel.  Dear friends, I went to church in the overflow overflow seating in the gym. 

Matt’s sermon was about entering the story; stepping into life with Jesus and onto the pages and getting out of the margins.  It was about how Easter is a wake-up call of sorts.  A reminder of what Jesus did for us – dying so that we might truly live.  A call to GET UP and join Him “on the page” in life.  Shouldn’t we be living every day as if it was Easter?  I don’t know about you, but I want to wake up every morning “on the page”.  And I want to live every day of my life “on the page”.  I want to resist creeping back into the margins where life is narrow and lacks a story, even if it feels safer there. 

I remembered my camera this morning when I left for church (but duh, I forgot my Bible!).  I went picture taking afterwards.  I stopped at the Post Office to buy a book of stamps and saw this pair of birds hopping around in this icy tree.  As I was driving away, I saw that these two had a third with them, presumably their baby.  I parked and got out of the car again, but couldn’t capture all three together. 

It’s nearly 3:00.  It is still snowing.  I am spending Easter quietly and alone at home.  I have a fire in the fireplace.  It’s 28 degrees out.  It’s supposed to be 60 degrees tomorrow.  I’m thinking this must have been winter’s last hurrah.  But a white Easter makes perfect sense to me…

 

Isaiah 1:18

 “Come now, let us reason together,”
       says the LORD.
       “Though your sins are like scarlet,
       they shall be as white as snow;
       though they are red as crimson,
       they shall be like wool.

Happy Easter.  Enter the story.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

Leave a Reply

