I’m Sorry, You Have WHAT?

She was probably in her late 30’s, if I remember correctly.  She came into the emergency department complaining of “fireballs of the eucharist”. 

I knew she thought she was saying something that she really had.  I didn’t even let on that I was cracking up inside!  So, after asking a few very pointed questions, I was able to get down to the issue at hand…..

me – “Do fireballs of the eucharist hurt?” 

her – “Yes.”

me – “Where do they hurt?”

her – “In my stomach.”  (and she indicated her lower abdomen)

me – “Have you ever had surgery for this?”

her – “Yes.”

me – “What kind of surgery?”

her – “They cut some of the fireballs out of my eucharist, but they left my eucharist, so I can still have kids.”

Now it was clear…

She had fibroids of the uterus.

Being an ER nurse is kind of like being a detective sometimes.

Emergency Roomism for the day:

Fireballs of the Eucharist = Uterine Fibroids

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

6 responses to “I’m Sorry, You Have WHAT?

  • Shirley

    I tell you, I am roaring.:)

    Joy!

    shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  • Shirley

    Jerry just came in the room, I made him come to the computer, whipped back to this site and read aloud to him: Fireballs of the Eucharist. I could barely speak for laughing. He left the room chuckling.

    But you never know: preachers get called on for lots of things. He might one day need this information.

    We’ll remember to credit you!

  • Lou (Linda)

    I would just LOVE to hear Jerry work this into his work! Can you imagine how hard it is to keep a straight face? 🙂 Take a guess at what “screaming mary jesus” is!

  • Whitney

    I give. What ia a screaming mary jesus?

  • writeathome

    That’s a funny blooper! Once when I was visiting a lady who had recently lost her husband, a friend of this lady who was over at the house too, told me about some Christians ladies that had come to visit a couple of days earlier. This friend was in another room at the time, but she kept on hearing cries of “lard cheeses! lard cheeses!” Later, she questioned the lady and said, “Why did those women keep screaming lard cheeses? The lady had to explain that these ladies were praying for her and saying, “Lord Jesus.”

  • John

    Just read this to Mom, Lauren and David after busting up on reading it on my own. They, too, went their pens.

Leave a Reply

