Is There a Child?

A couple of days ago my blog host, WordPress, listed an interesting sounding blog posting that was getting a lot of attention.  It was about the Hubble telescope and how it proved that God didn’t exist (killed God, actually).  I went to check it out, and found that hundreds of people had been leaving comments, many of them scathing.  I wondered if the blog owner was surprised by all the attention, so I went back today to see what else he had posted.  And I found a wonderfully powerful post about life and how it treats people differently.  The post revolved around a Peter Gabriel song called “Family Snapshot”.  His son made a video to accompany the song.  Here’s that video:

In case you missed the lyrics, here they are:

“Family Snapshot”

The streets are lined with camera crews
Everywhere he goes is news
Today is different
Today is not the same
Today I make the action
Take snapshot into the light, snapshot into the light
I’m shooting into the light

Four miles down the cavalcade moves on
Driving into the sun
If I worked it out right
They won’t see me or the gun

Two miles to go, they’re clearing the road
The cheering has really begun
I’ve got my radio
I can hear what’s going on

I’ve been waiting for this
I have been waiting for this
All you people in TV land
I will wake up your empty shells
Peak-time viewing blown in a flash
As I burn into your memory cells
‘Cos I’m alive

They’re coming ’round the corner with the bikers at the front
I’m wiping the sweat from my eyes
-It’s a matter of time
-It’s a matter of will
And the governor’s car is not far behind
He’s not the one I’ve got in mind
‘Cos there he is-the man of the hour, standing in the limousine
“I don’t really hate you
-I don’t care what you do
We were made for each other
-Me and you
I want to be somebody
-You were like that too
If you don’t get given you learn to take
And I will take you.”

Holding my breath
Release the catch
And I let the bullet fly

All turned quiet-I have been here before
Lonely boy hiding behind the front door
Friends have all gone home
There’s my toy gun on the floor
Come back Mum and Dad
You’re growing apart
You know that I’m growing up sad
I need some attention
I shoot into the light

Peter Gabriel

And watching the video, and listening to the words, and reading the lyrics made me wonder…Is there a child who needs more of my attention?  Who is the child in whom I can make a difference just by showing up?

(Click HERE to read the original post)

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

One response to “Is There a Child?

  • paralleldivergence

    Hi there, yes, I was very surprised at the attention to the Hubble post. Went to bed with one comment and woke up to 120 and 25,000 views! It’s still going but starting to trickle. Nice thing is the overall positive response to the article, not necessarily by the comments but by the 2,300 diggs it got.

    Anyway, as for this little post, you are absolutely right. The more we can do for children, the brighter we can make their future. I’m glad you liked it enough to post and write about it on your blog. Best wishes, Stu.

Leave a Reply

