Halloween

Halloween is my least favorite “holiday”.  I never have particularly liked it.  I never enjoyed trying to come up with a costume.  It was toooooo stressful!!   And I have an over active imagination.  I always have.  So I steer clear of scary things.  I was always just a little bit nervous when out trick or treating.  I didn’t like things jumping out at me.  I don’t even read scary books.  It’s too easy for me to get completely drawn into a book as though I am part of the story.  When I was in the 4th or 5th grade, I read a book called “The Amityville Horror”.  I didn’t sleep well for three nights after reading it.  That was the last scary book I have ever read.

When I was in junior high school, though I did it against my better judgement, I went to see the newly released movie”Halloween” with my friend Bird (her real name was Carrie) and her brother, Larry.  He drove us in his Volkswagen bus.  I’d never seen a scary movie before that.  I even avoided movies like “The Wizard of Oz”.  I did see the derivative movie of that called “The Wiz”, and was scared to death by the motor cycle riding monkeys and the bouncy clownish tile pillars that came alive in the basement of a parking garage.  I’m still freaked out a little by the memory of those things.  Ughhhh.  Shiverrrrrr.

I don’t know what I was thinking going to see Halloween.  But I put on my brave face.  I remember watching most of the film through my fingers.  And I remember going to the car after the movie and the windows were all steamed up.  I made Larry go and wipe them off to prove that the “steam” was not on the inside, but was condensation on the outside.

I had made plans to spend the night at Bird’s house.  (Gosh, I wonder what ever happened to her, anyway.)  I was freaked out the whole night.  Her house had the identical blinds on the windows that Jamie Lee Curtis peered through in the movie.  I laid awake the whole night staring at those blinds just waiting for something bad to happen!

So, what brings all this scariness to my mind tonight?  I saw that “Gattica” was going to be on TV.  I thought I’d watch it.  I’ve seen it before, and enjoyed it.  I love the futuristic/sci-fi genre.  So, I tuned in.  And it wasn’t too long before I realized that I’d made a mistake.  The movie I was actually watching was something called “Gothika”.  And it’s scary.  But I’m watching it because now I need to see how it ends.

I hope I sleep tonight.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

One response to “Halloween

Leave a Reply

