Glad I’m Almost Home!

For those of you who live in areas that routinely get lots of snow, blizzards, etc., please just go on about your business…you probably won’t find this posting at all interesting!  But I’m a So Cal native, so this was an exciting day for me!

We’ve been under a blizzard watch turned warning here in Colorado Springs for the past two days. I had such anticipation last night that I had a hard time getting to sleep. it was like the feeling I used to get on Christmas Eve when I was a kid! Anyway, I woke up at about 3:00, and jumped out of bed to look outside! The snow had already started! I was able to get back to sleep, which was a good thing, because I had to work today.  I probably should have just stayed in bed.  As it turned out, out of a staff of hundreds, only 26 of us actually made it in to work.  I hear we get some sort of special something in appreciation.  I hope it’s a snow plow attachment for my car.  I really didn’t think it was “optional” to go.  I have a history of getting to work regardless, though.  I actually have a commendation from then Governor Wilson of California for faithfully going to work in the ER of the hospital I worked at in South LA during the Rodney King riots!  What was I thinking?  But that’s another post for another time.  Back to this morning….

I had to push nearly six inches of snow off of my car before I could head out to work. Though I didn’t expect that I’d get stuck somewhere and freeze to death, I put a down comforter in my car. Since I’m from CA, I always have my emergency stuff in my trunk, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to have a big warm blanket! I also put boots on and packed work tennies. I slipped around a bit, but was able to pull my car out of the parking area behind my condo.

I made it to work without much difficulty, only to find that almost nobody else had! The MRI tube sat silent. There was no one manning the CT scanners. There was one person in X-ray. I didn’t even check mammography. I didn’t see many patients either. Though I heard that one man showed up for an MRI at 7:00 and was completely not understanding of the difficulty that the tech had in getting to work. He left angry.

The snow continued to fall heavily, and I wondered if I’d be able to get my car out when it came time to leave. I did remember to pull my wipers up and out so I knew those wouldn’t be frozen down and that I’d be able to scrape my windshield.

Shortly after I arrived, my boss arrived. The nurse scheduled at our other location was unable to make it in, so I was sent down there as there were patients that were still being expected that needed direct nursing care. I made it down just fine, again wondering about my car being buried in the parking lot.

I spent a total of three hours between the two places. One by one each of the expected patients dropped off the schedule, so I went home.

(Glad I’m Almost Home!, originally uploaded by Blah Blah Blog)

And as I drove, the winds started. I shot this picture out the front window of my car (no my windows are not tinted) on my street about 500 yards from home. I pulled into my driveway and got stuck. I had to rock myself out of the 14 inch pile of snow I had plowed into and I backed out of the driveway. I ended up parking on the street, but I’m stuck there.

I am scheduled to work tomorrow. I may have to wait until the snow melts to go! I won’t be stuck long. We’re expecting 60 degree weather on Saturday.

Boy, the weather here is psycho!

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

3 responses to “Glad I’m Almost Home!

  • Diana

    KUDDOS to you, girlfriend! You were more prepared than any of us native/longtime Coloradoans. I am so proud of you making it out in the blizzard of ’06. Do you think you still want to live in Colorado, tho? The snow will be gone and the sun out by this weekend, I promise. Good luck on your trip to work tomorrow!

  • Whitney

    May I put in a request for snow of a similar kind to start the day after our arrival at Christmas time? WOW. Glad you take your camera with you wherever you go.

  • Fubunorogow

    Забыл где я уже замечал подобную подборку инфы да ладно

Leave a Reply

