Be Brave!

Not, this isn’t some big “pump you up” self-help posting.  Just a funny story I have to share with you about my recent need to “dig deep” and “be brave”.

I was invited to an Oktober Fest at a co-worker’s house.  The party was last night.  There would be many people there I did not know, and being naturally shy, just going to a party like that requires a certain amount of pulling myself up by the boot straps.  I planned on going a little bit late, so that I wouldn’t be among the first to arrive.  I got dressed and headed out.

It was dark by the time I arrived, but there was no mistaking the Italian cut of the suit on the man who arrived just before me.  And he assisted a woman out of their vehicle who was extremely well-dressed as well.  My heart sank.  I hadn’t even thought to ask what the dress would be!  I assumed it was casual.  And while I was dressed nicely, I was in jeans.  And it was much too far away from my house for a quick run home to change.  As I saw it I had two choices:  1)  Leave  2) Stay!  I know!  Brilliant deduction, right?  I was kind of sick feeling.

As I sat in my car having an internal dialogue about leaving versus staying, I texted a friend for support, and decided to go in.  I pulled myself up tall, and told myself that nobody would care that I wasn’t dressed up.

And when I walked in the door, I quietly laughed to myself.  Nicely Dressed Couple were the only two there that weren’t dressed at least as casually as I was!  In an odd twist of fate, the couple who unknowingly made me feel badly about how I was dressed was the same couple who were the ones whose dress made them stand out!  Odd twist of fate, no?

Is there a moral to this story?  Proabably.  How about “things are not always as they seem” or maybe “just stop worrying about things that don’t matter and have some fun!”?

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

One response to “Be Brave!

Leave a Reply

