Happy Anniversary!

A year ago today, I pulled into the driveway of my new condo, in my new city, in my new state.  It was a condo I bought over the phone.  The city and state?  I picked those out especially for me after seeing them in real life. 

I pulled up very deep roots in Southern California and packed up all my belongings and drove out to Colorado.  And I have never looked back.  As I was driving up I-25 I saw a sign on the side of the freeway.  I was less than 5 miles from my new life.  It was about 5:00 and the sun was starting to set over the Front Range.  It was beautiful.  My cat, Mew Ling, was in her kennel in the passenger seat.  The sign was for a building company, maybe Laing Homes, and it simply said “Welcome Home”.  I looked at Mew and she looked at me and I told her, “Well, here we are.  Home.  The sign even said so.”

The move was made at the most difficult time of my life.  The decision to move had been made before my life got so difficult and complicated.  But I stuck with the plan, because it’s what I felt God wanted me to do.  And He has blessed me and blessed me and blessed me a thousand times over since then.

It’s difficult for me to believe that it has been a whole year.  It has been a great year.  A full year.  I almost can’t wait to see what year number two holds in its hands for me.

Welcome Home, indeed.

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

4 responses to “Happy Anniversary!

  • Carly

    Hi Linda 🙂

    I have been meaning to comeback and read a little of your journal, sorry it has taken so long. I am amazed at how brave you are. Picking up and moving must have been difficult, yet it seems you allow yourself to live life to the fullest and trust in yourself and God. Impressive indeed. You have found that rare balance of all things. Happy Anniversary of your new home, tee hee, I thought I was the only one to throw parties for my home. As of May 1st, I have been here 5 years, and I bought my cottage a balloon. 🙂 You have a well written, and poignant journal here…I will be back for a visit again.

    Carly 🙂

  • Shirley

    Linda, I’m posting a duplicate comment here–same as on my site, so you will be sure to see it.

    I’m excited about meeting you on Sunday. The church info is:
    Family Worship Center
    6062 Hollow Tree Court
    80918 Colorado Springs
    719 599-0509

  • Carol

    Hi Linda,

    I saw on Shirley’s site that you were interested in meeting her. I do hope you’ll be able to make it to this church in Colorado Springs. The Buxtons are wonderful people, and I know you would enjoy meeting them and talking with them. Hope you have a blessed weekend.

    Carol

  • Shirley

    Linda: It was great to have met you in church today. I hope your soul was as blessed as mine. The Cantus are wonderful people. Jerry B.

Leave a Reply

