Sheema. Mealie Meal.

I don’t know exactly what it is either.  Very little comes up when you do internet searches on it.  This is what I DO know.  They are both made from maize (what you call, “corn”….sorry couldn’t help myself.  That’s a reflex there, and you may not understand the reference.)

Mealie Meal is ground corn.  Sheema is ground mealie meal.  And they are the staple starch/food of the people of Zambia.

I recently found out that my team this summer will not be taking food with them.  We will be buying our food there.  Since I have no idea what food is even available there, it makes planning in advance (like what sort of extras to bring to augment the food stores) nigh unto impossible.  Most teams take a set inventory of food:  this many cans of chicken/beef/pork.  This many cans of corn/beans/pears.  This many bags of oats/flour/sugar.  You get the idea.  You can think menus in your mind if you sort of know what you’ll have to work with.  You can think “maybe I’ll bring oregano” or “maybe I’ll bring taco seasoning”. 

What an adventure that I don’t know anything! 

Pray for my kids.  I could not eat all summer and be very little worse for the wear, maybe even better for the wear as I could stand to lose 10 or 60 pounds!  But those kids are gonna want to eat! 

Lord, if we are limited to mealie meal, may I learn how to make it look and taste different three times a day for six weeks!

1/7/07 UPDATE!!  I see that my information on sheema was incorrect!  Sheema is actually a porridge that is made from the mealie meal.  You can make it varying consistencies.  We made it sort of runny for breakfast, and much more thick (so it could be broken into pieces with your hand and eaten with sauteed cabbage) for lunch and dinnner!  It was actually pretty good.  I even used the mealie meal to make good old fashioned American cornbread!

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

6 responses to “Sheema. Mealie Meal.

  • Lizzie

    who says God has no sense of humor? Like it isn’t funny enought that you have to cook for all those kids with huge cans of beef/pork/chicken suprise. The suprise being you can’t tell them apart, and as a bonus if you have low blood pressure, with all the sodium they contain, your BP will be up in no time. But in His infinite wisdom, He sends you were you will have to cook 101 corn suprise dishes. hee hee hee.

  • Lou (Linda)

    That God! He’s a regular laugh riot on this one, huh?!!! 🙂 And don’t you just know that I’ll probably find a family of 3 or 5 or 10 little orphans that I’ll go all Angelina Jolie on, too. Me, who stopped wanting children almost a decade ago! 🙂

    The difference between an ordeal and an adventure is attitude, right????

    Connie, you can stop laughing now!

  • Auntie Di

    Take heart – think Italy, think gourmet, think…Polenta.

  • Jessica Cartwright

    Just so you know Linda Lou…I miss sheema like crazy.

    actully I miss your cooking period.

    Thanks for everything you did for us Linda!

  • maddie

    i used to live in zambia (but am english)
    and sheema is delicious, we used to have it with a salsa made of tomatos and onions and salt and pepper 🙂

    i actually just made some this morning for breakfast 🙂

    i miss zambia so much
    i was out there when my dad set up christian voice and another radio station near lusaka 🙂 and helped set up an orphanage.
    some of the landscapes there really are beautiful i hope you had a nice time 🙂

  • Lou (Linda)

    I miss Zambia, too. I was only there for 6 weeks, but it was home. We ate sheema often. My group had “sheema day” where we ate sheema for each meal! I made it thin and sweet for breakfast and traditionally thick for the other two meals. And I made a sauteed relish with greens, onions, tomatos, garlic, salt and pepper. It was so delicious!

    Thanks for sharing part of your story!!! I hope you get to go back to Zambia…and where do you find the right kind of meal for sheema in the UK????? 🙂

Leave a Reply

