Hershey’s Kisses

I am heading for Callie day after tomorrow, and I get to see my family.  I am so excited to see my nieces and nephews.  — Oh, and my brothers and sisters, and parents, too, just in case they are reading!  🙂  —

Got me to thinking about a story. 

My niece, Alaska, is one of the sweetest and most sensitive children, well, people actually, that I know.  This story is evidence to that!

When she was about five years old, we were having a “Super Bowl Sunday” at my sister Diane’s house.  Alaska was snuggled up to me on the couch eating Hershey’s Kisses.  I kept noticing her bringing a napkin up to her mouth and spitting something into it.  I was extremely curious as she was simply eating chocolate! 

So, I asked her what she was doing.  She looked around carefully a couple of times to make certain that nobody could hear what it was she was going to tell me.

And in a low and quiet voice, and with big serious eyes staring right at me, she said “Auntie Lou, these Hershey’s Kisses have SEEDS in them….” And she showed me a napkin full of big fat almonds!

She hadn’t wanted to hurt anybody’s feelings, so she quietly spit “the seeds out” and was going to throw them away when no one was watching.  What a sweet, sweet girl.  And she’s just as sweet today as she was back then.

I originally submitted this story to Reader’s Digest the week after it happened.  It’s been seven years.  I guess I won’t be hearing back from them… 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

One response to “Hershey’s Kisses

Leave a Reply

