Find Your Wings

Find Your Wings

It’s only for a moment

that you are mine to hold

The plans that heaven has for you

will all too soon unfold

So many different prayers I’ll pray

for all that you might do

But most of all I’ll want to know

you’re walking in the truth

And if I’ve never told you

I want you to know that

as I watch you grow

I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams

and that faith gives you the courage

to dare to do great things

I’m here for you whatever this life brings

so let my love give you roots

and help you find your wings

May passion be the wind that leads

you through your days

and may convictions keep you strong

guide you on your way

May there be many moments

that make your life so sweet

Oh, but more than memories

I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams

and that faith gives you the courage

to dare to do great things

I’m here for you whatever this life brings

so let my love give you roots

and help you find your wings

It’s not living if you don’t reach for the sky

I’ll have tears as you take off

But I’ll cheer you as you fly

I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams

and that faith gives you the courage

to dare to do great things

I’m here for you whatever this life brings

so let my love give you roots

and help you find your wings

 

These are the lyrics to a song written by Mark Harris for his children.  I am not a mother, you are not a child.  But today my heart sings this song for you, sweet angel.

I pray that God would fill your heart with dreams.  And that faith gives you the courage to dare to do great things.  I pray you find your wings. 

(Go to http://www.buzzplant.com/markharris/findyourwings/ for a downloadable audio version of the song.)

 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

44 responses to “Find Your Wings

  • €d¥a®d

    Wow. Just encountered this for the first time. I’m blessed.

  • renelle

    this is a very good song indeed. heard it on the radio just a bit ago. thanks for the lyrics and background information.

    God bless

  • Coleen

    This song touches me like I cannot explain. Thanks for the words.

  • Toni Potter

    I shared this song with my daughter. Neither of us can listen to it without crying. God is Good. All the Time.

  • Susan

    I absolutely love this song! I have suggested it to my daughter as a song to dance to with her dad at her wedding. It’s just precious and describes exactly how you feel as a parent, even when you are washing diapers or staying up late, with a lump in your throat and a prayer in your heart, waiting for the one who missed their curfew. God bless all those parents to be, current parents and those of my current status, empty nesters – a bitter-sweet place to be. I’m waiting for grandchildren!

  • Vicki

    I just had a baby girl 5 weeks ago and I will be singing this song at her dedication. I love it and thank you for the link to Mark Harris

  • Nathan

    I just heard this song on KLOVE and was all emotional in the car, thinking of my two children (ages 6 and 4) and how someday they will be all grown up and will “find their wings”. Thank you for posting the link to Mark Harris’ site. I just downloaded the song. I’m going to share it with my wife when I get home from work.

  • Karen

    I just heard this song for the first time today and am going to give a copy of it to my daughter as she leaves for college this fall. I am going to miss her so much but want her to know my prayer for her.

  • Terry Maupin

    My daughter told me about this song. It describes so my how I feel about her, and my relationship with her as her dad. She is 22 years old, in college, pursuing a career in Physical Therapy. She is such a wonderful christian young woman, and wants so much to be successful in life. She has had a hard last year, so this was the perfect song at the perfect time in her life. I will keep this song in my heart until she finishes medical school, and also for her to find the christian young man that I know God is preparing for her. Thank you so much for helping me to be able to find the lyrics and artist. May God Bless you today, and always.

  • Wendy Haines

    My daughter left a few(3) days ago to attend a military academy and I never dreamed I could miss her as much as I do. We became much closer her senior year in high school and I’m extremely thankful!! I’ve heard this song on the radio but it has become very personal to me the past few days. I am dedicating this song to her and will share these words with her once we can speak following basic training. Thank you so much for such a meaningful song parents can relate to so well—too well. How time flies!!! From a Mother’s breaking heart!! Thank YOU!!!

  • Mel Mel

    I just graduated from high school this past May. I’m so excited about college and my life ahead of me! When I heard this song on the radio, I shared the lyrics with my mom. She started to tear up because my older sister just graduated last year and it was about a week or two before I graduated! I absolutely love this song because my mom has been the one who has given me my roots in God, life, and love. She has always been there for me and now I have to fly away…not too far at first- college is only about an hour away, but I’m taking off.

  • Anna

    I heard this song on the radio, and a google search brought me to you and these lyrics. I am a mom of a just turned 5 year old, and a 20 month old, and a preschool teacher at a lutheran school. I sing the chorus to my children as a lullaby every night, and use it as a prayer for my children as I pray at the end of my day. It is a powerful song, that brings forth so many emotions, and really helps me to focus on the reason God has blessed me with two beautiful children. I pray that I am able to give them the roots they will need to walk with their Heavenly Father daily as they grow.

  • Annette

    I heard this song earlier this summer and I can’t express any better than this song how much I pray and wish for, for them as they grow into young men. There is a poem about a young man going off to college and the heavy heart a mom has when she has to let go. I cried when I read it as well as this song but it is bittersweet and I am so proud of who they are becoming. God Bless!

  • Steph

    Your blog is what comes up on a Google search for this song- which I didn’t know the name of. I just heard this song on the radio (WRBS) a couple of weeks ago and just recently decided it will be more than perfect for my father and I to dance to at my wedding next May! Isn’t it amazing how many people your blog touched?? 🙂 Blessings-

  • Jenny

    When I heard Mark’s song my heart I thought it would be a great gift for Steve to give after our mediation for our divorce. Thank you for this website where the words are written. People say they don’t understand how I could still love Steve since he served me. I respond by saying despite how painful this experience has been, this experience has made me realize that God is in control and I am here on earth to do God’s will – not mine. I am so thankful for God’s awesome gifts of peace, mercy, forgiveness, and love. Also, I am thankful that he healed my heart and that I want to share with others that they too can receive His awesome PEACE. Thank you Lord.

  • Louise

    My daughter married in March. I think about her when I hear this song. She recently got married… I recently grew up… more. Children are God’s true gift.

    Proverbs 31:10-12:
    10 A capable, intelligent, and [a]virtuous woman–who is he who can find her? She is far more precious than jewels and her value is far above rubies or pearls.(A)

    11The heart of her husband trusts in her confidently and relies on and believes in her securely, so that he has no lack of [honest] gain or need of [dishonest] spoil.

    12She comforts, encourages, and does him only good as long as there is life within her.

  • Janet

    Last year at this time we had Lymphoma looming over my young son’s head. Due to his health problems he had to stay home and go to community college. Thru God’s mercy and healing tomorrow he leaves for college seven hours away. This song says it all. God is good.

  • Duane

    I’ve am a crossroads in my life. I’ve been offered a opportunity to follow my passion with a career change after 21 years an the same job. Change is scary, but I’ve been praying for guidance. My prayers were answered when I listened to this song on KLOVE this morning. I’m ready to let “let passion be the wind that leads (me) through (my) days”.. and let “convictions keep (me) strong and guide me on my way.” God has “filled my heart with dreams” and I hope that my “faith gives (me) the courage to dare to do great things.” It age 50 I still need dreams and keep searching to find my wings!!

  • Sue

    Hi..Thanks for sharing. I just heard this song from a friend who told me about it. I have a 2 month old daughter and a 2 1/2 year old son, whom I have been praying for ALL my life! And I have been searching high and low for a dedication song for their baby dedication and THIS IS IT! What an amazing song, that must touch every parents heart when they hear it. I cannot listen to it without tearing up. I can’t imagine when it’s time for them to “fly”, but I know God will give me the strength when I need it! Again, thanks for sharing!!

  • spyware

    My name is Danny, I am 24 year old, and doing research on wordpress. I would like to show my stuff I have been here. Is that ok? I like your blog.

  • terri

    this is such an awesome song bring tears to my eyes

  • Kittykate3

    I love you blog! And I love this song! keep up the good work!

  • Marianne

    This is an amazing song. When I first heard it, I pulled over onto the side of the road to write the words down, and when I got home I searched for it on the internet (and found this blog!) and listened to it over and over again as I thought of each my four children…. re-living the years with each of them in my mind and heart. I plan to get the CD for each of them and frame the lyrics as a special gift to them. I can’t think of a better way to show them and tell them how much I love them. Thanks for this site and for helping me find the song. God Bless! Marianne

  • karen

    I was blessed when 106.9 the light shared this moving song with me.

  • Deb

    I heard this song on the Fish a while ago. My daughter got engaged in Aug 06. The more we heard this song, her father and I thought what a beautiful song to use in the wedding, but not to put any pressure on her, I never said anything. She called me 3 days ago with tears in her voice as she told me she just found the song she would like to use when her father and I walk down the aisle at her wedding!!!!!! God is Soooo Good! Children are such a beautiful blessing, hold yours close!

  • Queenie

    I love this song, and I posted it on my blog too. I saw your post on the search engine…

    May God fill your heart with dreams and courage too! Bless you.

  • Amanda

    evry time my mother and i listen to this song our eyes are full of tears as she thinks of her oldest and my brother.
    God Bless

  • ANTOINETTE

    PRAISE THE LORD FOR THIS PRECIOUS SONG & FOR THE
    GIFTED SONGWRITER…I CANNT EXPLAIN THE FEELING I
    FELT WHEN I HEARD THE SONG..
    MAY GOD & THE HOLY SPIRIT ENLIGHTEN YOU ALL THE DAYS OF YOUR LIFE… AMEN..
    THANKS FOR SUCH ENCOURAGING WORDS….

  • laurie

    My oldest child, my son Michael, just left for Navy boot camp. I’m so proud of him. He’s had a tough time with an absent dad, but he took this challenge on for himself, to make a difference in this world, trying to be a good man. He’s such a fine young Christian man/boy. I sent him a letter today and enclosed these lyrics. It’s so hard to watch them go, but we parents really do cheer when they fly (even though our hearts are crying).

  • Jessica

    I heard this song on my way to work this morning and teared up. We just found out we are pregnant with our second. Praise God! This song is so fitting to how we feel as parents. It’s absolutely beautiful! Thank you!

  • Sheryl

    I heard this song for the first time tonight. My daughter will graduate from college this spring and I have tried to create a scrapbook of her life for her graduation, but have struggled with how to accomplish this in a meaningful way. These lyrics are perfect and truly an answer to my prayers. Thank you for publishing and sharing this!

  • Happy New year

    Wanted to thank you for the post and also with you a happy new year. I am trying to get more involved with some projects online but darn work keeps getting in the way hahaha. Happy New year!

  • Rebecca Alexander

    I just heard your song and was at a place to try and figure out who was singing. I feed into google-song title,help you find your wings, and shazam there was your face so I listened and there was the beautiful voice singing the beautiful song.

  • Jim Dichraff

    I would really like to find the guitar chords to go with this so I can work on this for my daughter’s graduation. Can you publish them with the lyrics or give me a site to find them?

  • Lou (Linda)

    Jim,

    Check your e-mail. I sent you link under the name BBBlogmail@aol.com.

    Hope it is what you need!

  • Jeff

    Great song, would also love to fing the chords somewhere.
    Thanks

  • Steph

    Needed the words to this song to give to our 17 yr. old foster daughter. She just came to live with us on Mother’s Day weekend, and is having trouble believing we really love her and want her to stay with us. We have two other daughters, also. I want our new daughter to understand what we feel for her, and this song expresses it so well!!
    Thanks!!

  • rhonda

    I thank you for the lyrics…I heard the song on the radio and searched online for the lyrics and found your blog.
    Thank you and God Bless

  • Rhonda

    Terry Maupin (19:19:55) :

    I just hope that your daughter does find the perfect world, but accidents can always happen. I don’t mean to scare you, but my niece was keeping a child and something happened and he died. She is a wonderful Christian Girl with the background of daycare. She had the perfect world, husband, almost 2 year old little girl, and loving family! She goes to church with the people of the baby that died. Well now she is in jail, and her life is on hold. Don’t always ask for the perfect world, because when it crumbles it can kill you! I’m sending these lyrics to my niece, because she will love the song, but can’t hear it. Please pray for your daughter to have a safe and happy Christian life. Miracles do happen to people that believe! I DO BELIEVE!

  • Yvonne

    WOW what a song…. the first time I heard this song was just after my daughter left for the Navy. She had just been gone a few days when I first heard it and I just cried as I missed her more than I ever thought I would. This song says everything I had been feeling and praying for her. She is now finished with boot camp and closer to home so I get to see her often but each time I hear this song I tear up…. This song says what every parent feels for their child. Thanks for posting the lyrics and the song for easy listening.

  • Tall T

    Funny.

    I have heard this song on the radio but had no idea who sang it and what the title was. I just heard it again and I remembered part of the lyrics. I typed them in and here they were on your blog all along.

    Hugs. I miss you while your away.

  • Connie

    I know I have heard this song before. But the way I just heard it on KLove was clearly a message straight to me from My Father. My 3 teenage sons and I are still picking up the pieces after the death of my husband almost 2 years ago. I am blessed to have been given a job. But the stretch is still unnerving and this day things had been particularly intimidating when I hurriedly got into a car where KLove was playing just in time to hear “I pray that God will fill your heart with dreams and that faith gives you the courage to dare to do great things”. What sweet words! I knew they were for me signed “With love, God” My search for the lyrics led me to your blog and your prayer (allbeit from 2006) – If you’re still there Thank you! and Bless you!
    I’m daring to do great things (through Him) and I know I will cheer through the tears as my beautiful sons fly!

  • Lou (Linda)

    I am still here. Though I don’t know you, I am proud of you. The loss which lead to my writing this post was just a breakup, nothing like losing a spouse. For the past four years I have been standing with my brother in the loss of his spouse though and I have seen how painful and difficult a process that is. It’s like no matter how many pieces you pick up, you keep finding more, sometimes in places that you never imagined. My brother’s wife’s name was Connie, like you, and she was my best friend. Your comment has washed me in emotion…broken pieces where I didn’t expect them… I don’t know how anyone can suffer devastating losses and manage to get through the day without the love of our Savior. I stand with you, too, as you and your boys continue to pick up the pieces…

Leave a Reply

