I Want a Teardrop Camper!

(That needs to be read with a hint of a whine in your voice.)

I have too many blog drafts in my queue, so you’re getting two right off the bat today!

I have been letting my magazines stack up.  Be horrified.  My magaizine subscriptions are as follows:

  1. Time
  2. Cottage Living
  3. Conde Naste’s Travel
  4. Reader’s Digest

I get Time because I need something that gets my ire up every once in awhile!  I get Cottage Living because I love all the design ideas for small spaces.  I get Travel.  Do I need to explain myself on this subscription?  I get Reader’s Digest because it’s one of the best magazines around and I have subscribed to it for as long as I can remember.  And my family competes to see who gets the most right in “It Pays To Enrich Your Word Power” (which they now just call “Word Power”).

While reading my May copy of RD yesterday I came across a tiny little article which talked about hitting the road in a “teardrop camper”.  OH MY GOSH.  These things are CUTE!  Even I might camp if I had one of these little babies!

http://www.tinycamper.com/

One of the things on my “List of Fifty” is to drive the original Route 66.  Now tell me, how much fun would it be to do THAT with one of THESE!!  I do believe even my Honda could tow this!

 

(http://www.cozycruiser.com/images/super-deluxe-teardrop-trailer.gif)

That’s a kitchen in the back, and in the front is a sleeping/living/storage space.  I’ve done some shopping, and, as with most things, they pretty much run the gamut as far as cost and amenities are concerned!  I like how the aluminum ones look.  They have a retro Route 66 sort of feel to them.  These seem to be very popular in Australia and New Zealand, and they’ve got some really sharp ones for sale down there!

Anybody want to go with me???

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

37 responses to “I Want a Teardrop Camper!

  • Julie

    I don’t know if this is built for two cousins…..but we do need to get out on the road again!!!

  • Ross Ricketts

    BIG WOODY CUSTOM BUILT TEARDROP CAMPERS ARE BASED UPON THE DESIGNS OF THE 40’S AND 50’S. THESE NOSTALGIC CAMPERS WILL BRING YOU YEARS OF ENJOYMENT AND THE ‘LOOK’ THAT WILL TURN HEADS WHETHER TOWED BEHIND A CLASSIC OR MODERN VEHICLE.

    THESE STURDY, DURABLE CAMPERS ARE LIGHTWEIGHT AND CAN BE PULLED BEHIND ANY CAR.

    NO NEED!!! FOR ELECTRIC BRAKES OR EXTENDED MIRRORS!

    THE “CABIN” IS SIZED TO FIT A FULL-SIZED FUTON MATTRESS OR AIR MATTRESS THAT YOU SUPPLY, AND SLEEPS TWO PEOPLE COMFORTABLY. THE REAR “GALLEY” IS YOUR “KITCHEN ON WHEELS” AND CAN BE AS SIMPLE OR AS ELEGANT AS YOU CHOOSE.

    TEARDROP CAMPERS ARE FOR THE DISCRIMINATING CAMPER

  • Marijo Peterman

    We are preparing to build our own Teardrop ( with the help of my brother whose an excellent Carpenter). I cant tell you how anxious we are to travel the USA in it. We retire in 2 1/2 years and this is exactly what we have been looking for. We have a larger Camper but we are Never in it and it must be towed with our truck.
    A teardrop can be towed with a small car, which means less gas, and more money to travel with. Yippeee!!!!!!!!!!!! I cant wait.

  • Mary Hattemer

    I am very interested in the teardrop. I loved to tent camp but since my husband died I find it hard set up the tent. I would love to rent a teardrop to see if I can handle it by myself and whether I will enjoy camping alone. I live in the Cincinnati area and if anyone knows if I could rent a teardrop for a weekend this fall I would love it. Thanks, Mary Hattemer

  • fred

    My wife and I just bought a teardrop built by amish craftsmen in ohio.
    Called a yoder toter. We are driving out from new england to pick it up in a week or so.It will be towed with my vw golf diesel no problem. Fun Fun…

  • bgraef

    Sure……Ill go with you.
    Sure would beat sleeping in my VW by the side of the road. 🙂

  • Chad

    Teardrop campers are really cool. Check out my blog it is loaded with our teardrop from the amazing trips we have taken in it.

    Teardrops really make you spend a good bit of time outside, which is kind of the point in camping.

    We love ours.

  • kampery

    Teardrop camper are really nice.

    Tak! I mam nadzieję mieć jed wkrótce! Wdzięczności za odwiedzanie mojego *blog*! ~ Lou

  • jim

    If you would like a nice teardrop we can build it to your needs. email us at utopiatrailers@yahoo.com

  • heartwhispers

    My hubby wants one sooo bad. He thinks they are the neatest thing made! I remember when they were a pretty common sight (ummm, yes I’m in my 50’s) and as a little girl I thought it would be a neat playhouse! 🙂 Seriously though, they are great for a “simple lifestyle” and I’ve found as I grown-up that I don’t need as much “stuff” as I assumed I did! Less really is better most of the time.

    Thanks for dropping in on my blog. Hope you’ll be back. Perhaps we’ll all get one to use in our grown up and simpler lives! — Lou

  • Bill Peterman

    Hey Teardroppers,
    If anyone out there has any teardrop camping stories, drop me a line. The wife and I are interested in chatting with anyone who has one. Check out my photos on myspace Bill Peterman Altoona Pennsylvania.
    Love to hear some camping stories.
    Thanks,
    Bill and Marijo Peterman

  • Bill Peterman

    I forgot to add I built my own teardrop camper. 99 % completed It just needs a paint job. Those are the photos I mentioned can be seen on my Myspace Page/ Bill Peterman Altoona Pennsylvania.
    My wife Marijo and I would love to hear from anyone with a Teardrop.
    Bill Peterman

  • Michael

    Check out Tear Drop Customs. You can look for tear drop campers, parts, and contact sellers with questions. http://www.teardropcustoms.com sells 3 different models and they are priced at least $2000 less then most companies. You can also browse the classifieds. People can sell their teardrop campers and related stuff on this web site. Check it out. Everything about tear drop campers!

  • Massey

    My husband an I just built our first tear drop. We have been camping in it twice already in less than a month! It is wonderful. So easy to just go without all the hasle camping use to be. We are starting on a second one now. I am not sure what is more fun, building them or camping in them!!!

  • Pam Finch

    My husband and I bought a 1953 “LONELY TEARDROP” to restore, and use instead of a tent, it has become our passion, we just love it. Can’t wait for spring camping season.
    If you want pictures send me your email, I’ll send them.

  • Lou (Linda)

    I would LOVE to see your restored teardrop camper! My e-mail address is bbblogmail@aol.com! Thanks, Pam!!!

  • Lee

    Just buildinh mine now.

    More A55 than Route 66 but definately more Jack Karouac than Alan Partridge

  • Linda Gregory

    I would love to find one of these to pull behind my Honda Element….nice little camper for long weekend getaways:) I am 57 now & need some fun time AWAY from home! Do you think my Honda could pull it & can I find one that won’t cost me to much near northern Indiana?

  • Lou (Linda)

    I think the Element could pull one, but not one of the bigger ones! Aren’t they awesome? I still don’t have one, but one day I will! I’m sure you can find one in Indiana that won’t be too expensive…. Let me know if you do, and how it turns out!

  • Linda Gregory

    I’ll let you know it…. will probably be awhile…but it’s the next thing on my wish list:)

  • amy (sew~amy)

    did you find anywhere that would rent you one? I would love to rent one for a weekend.

  • Don

    My son and I built a teardrop 4 years ago it was so much fun building it to our specs. The teardrop meeting is in Minden Ne. in June. I also listed the web site redelmoutfitter.com for folding bikes and canoes for limited space.

    http://redelmoutfitters.com/folding_bikes1

  • Bill Peterman

    Thw wife and I finished our Teardrop Camper last summer. We love it. Not too many Teardrops around our area. I know there is a few in our state of Pa. Always interested in Teardrop stories
    Thanks
    Bill and MArijo Peterman

  • Bill Peterman

    Pennsylvania Area,
    Any Teardrop campers in the Pennsylvania area? We are located in the Altoona area. Finished building ours in 08′. We love it. We are kicking around starting a Seniors (over 50) Camping club for the Central Pa surrounding areas. Does anyone think there would be an interest in this. If so Im on Facebook and MySpace, Bill Peterman. Send me a message. Or Email me at Billandmarijop@Atlanticbb.net
    Bill and Marijo Peterman

  • Bill Peterman

    Seniors Camping club would accept any size Camper. Vintage or new. Just have to be over 50 years old.
    Bill and Marijo Peterman.

  • SunvalleyGal

    I just bought a teardrop Woody yesterday. I’ve already stayed one night in it. I cannot wait to get this little thing on the road w/ my dogs n trail bike. I have wanted one for years n finally bit the bullet. Luv it!

  • Lou (Linda)

    A Woody? That’s awesome! I’m jealous…I still don’t have mine yet, but love hearing about others who are livin’ the dream! 🙂

  • Susan

    Here’s a link to our Tear build on the T&TT forum. Can’t wait to get it done!!!!

    http://www.mikenchell.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=26011

  • Lou

    Hey Susan, I looked the entire build saga and it looks GREAT! Love the finish you decided on and the interior lighting is super! I just bet you can’t wait to get it done…don’t you have reservations somewhere?? I hope you’ll pop back by and let us know when it’s done and link us to the pictures of the final product!!!

  • Joanne Proffitt

    Hey,
    Jim ( my husband), is wanting to build a teardrop, but wants to know if anyone has airconditioned one. We live in TEXAS, and love the summer, but… you know. Email me, if you have our answer. We really want to make one.
    2J’s

  • rick

    I met a dealer in San Diego who rents them first…nice way to check them out…just get your hands on a car with a hitch. (even though I can’t back up…the wife and I just pushed it in place). It was really warm at 5,000 ft! Try Little Guy Trailers

  • Jewel

    I towed my little homebuilt Jewel Box teardrop with my 4 cyl Honda Accord and met the best campers and being single, it was so nice to have friends to camp with. I”ll never tent camp again. Check out the T&TT forum … it is the BEST !!!!
    Happy Camping !

  • Laurinda

    I would love to do Rt. 66. Last March I was on part of it during a cross country drive from Boston to Tucson and back. I have a ‘little guy’ teardrop and would like to find people to travel with along rt. 66. I would like to do it from Chicago to west coast….all the way.

  • Lou (Linda)

    Oh, your drive sounds lovely! I am though, sadly, still teardropless, or else I’d be on board with your Rt. 66 plan!

  • Jean-René

    I have also built my own teardrop trailer and enjoy camping in it. It’s so better than tenting and cheaper than a full size camper. You can check pics of my teardrop trailer on my blog at teardroptrailerkit.blogspot.com

  • Lou (Linda)

    Wow! That’s an awesome job! Jealous!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

