Chocolate Theology

I had dinner with friends tonight. We had pizza. Really good pizza. And we watched Survivor since we were out playing Bunco on Survivor night. As our conversations usually do, our conversation turned to theological ideas. With tongue in cheek, Scott tells me that lately he has been getting his word from God off the wrappers of Dove's Promises! Very funny.

As you may, or may not, know, I have had an issue/problem over which I have been perseverating for months. I have been dissecting this issue from every possible angle, trying to figure out what exactly the problem is/was, trying to figure out what I could have/should have done differently, wondering what I am to do now.  It kept me awake last night, and woke me up early this morning. Anyhow, on my way out the door, I grabbed one of these Dove's Promises for myself. Believe me if you will, this is what the wrapper said to me:

Chocolate Theology.jpg 

I hung it on my fridge.

I've recently been frustrated because I have been asking and asking God for some sort of word on my current situation.  And I have been feeling like I've been "gettin' nothin'".  There has been a little part of me that feels as though God has played a cosmic joke on me.  For years I prayed and prayed for a really good husband.  After many years of not meeting anyone that even made me think about marriage, I had given up on that dream/prayer.  Enter that guy I have written about before.  (You know the one, the best romance I'd ever had.)  Anyhow, last night I was particularly frustrated over the rug being pulled out from under this very promising relationship.  This morning, while engaging in the mundanity of morning chores, I got the distinct impression that God was telling me two things:

  1. He hasn't been silent, but He has already spoken to me on this issue and doesn't want to have to repeat Himself.  His word is still good.

  2. No father whose children ask him for bread will give them stones (Luke 11:11).

I don't know if any of this makes any sense to any of you, but it does to me, and I guess that's what's important in this particular instance.

 

 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

3 responses to “Chocolate Theology

  • Diane

    Excellent discernment! So many times God has given us the answer, it’s just not the answer we want so we believe Him to be silent. Sometimes I wonder what we must sound like to God – we all know those kids who just keep asking, begging, whining until the target adult explodes in wrath or gives in to shut the kid up. I wonder if there are times that God gives in too and we loose out on the better blessing or suffer grave consequences because we just had to have “it”, whatever that it may be.

  • Doris

    Beautifully and tenderly written. In my opinion, YOU are the best thing that has ever happened to him.

  • Julie

    I’ve never seen a Dove chocolate with that response on it…and believe me, I’ve seen my share of dove chocolates…….was truly a message from God….

Leave a Reply

