“Host, or be on, a radio show” – List of 50

A big goal for a girl who doesn’t like to be up in front of people!  And a girl for whom public speaking, especially at the time I wrote this goal, was DAUNTING.  “Give me a ‘F’.  I’m NOT getting up and doing that report!” 

About 10, or maybe 12, years ago, while driving home late (it was around 2AM if I remember correctly) from Northern California, I was listening to talk radio.  I don’t remember what the topic was, but I called in.  I guess my call interested the host (whose name shall remain anonymous as he’s still in the biz on the production side of things) because the next day, he contacted me at work.  The screeners make you give a contact number, so I gave my work fax number.  And I got a fax from him, asking me to call!  We chatted for a while, and he seemed really nice, so we made a date for the following weekend.

I met him at the radio station, he set me up with a motorcycle helmet fitted with an intercom system, and off we went on his Honda Goldwing.  We had a really nice day going to a couple of movies at cool old theaters, cruising around LA on his bike, and going out to dinner.  I shared with him my goal of being on a radio show, and he was going to make that happen!  I was to be a guest on his show!  I was really excited.  UNTIL I was driving home and heard him on the air with another host going on and on about “the listener” he just went on a date with.  I was totally creeped out.  Not that he had such a good time and wanted to share it, but just to hear me being talked about on like a billion watts of radio!  That cured me of my desire to be on the radio.

(He asked a few times, but I never went out with him again.  I just didn’t like him that much!)

 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

Leave a Reply

