Deus Ex Machina

deus ex ma·chi·na  

  1. In Greek and Roman drama, a god lowered by stage machinery to resolve a plot or extricate the protagonist from a difficult situation.
  2. An unexpected, artificial, or improbable character, device, or event introduced suddenly in a work of fiction or drama to resolve a situation or untangle a plot.
  3. A person or event that provides a sudden and unexpected solution to a difficulty.

I’ve experienced a couple of “deus ex machina” events in my life, but recently have needed another one.  Knowing that in the situation I need one the most, I can’t expect one.

But there’s been two other difficulties that I didn’t know just how they would be solved.  Despite living in Colorado, it’s hard to find firewood in bulk.  Harder still to find someone who 1) has the wood to sell 2) will deliver it, and 3) will stack it in my garage.  Which is sort of problematic in itself, because my garage is full of old cabinets and countertops and I have no way to get rid of them.  And I’ve burned everything I can now, and it’s supposed to get cold this weekend.  I’d have burned the cabinets themselves, but they’re cheap and laminate and I’m sure they’d give off all sorts of toxic gases!

Enter Matt.  Shortly after arriving home from work this evening, there was a knock on my door.  At the door was a very convivial gentleman who was canvassing the neighborhood looking to see if there was anyone who needed wood!  I DO!  But, I told him, I don’t know if there’s room in the garage for it.  “Let me check it out” he said.  So, when I showed him my dilemma, he said “for 20 extra bucks, I’ll haul all that stuff to the dump for you.”  Deus ex machina.

Still hoping for one in my other difficulty, though.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

Leave a Reply

