“On a scale of 1 to 10, it’s the worst I’ve ever cleaned up…”

I had initially planned on renting when I moved from CA to CO while the new house was being built.  But as the time to move grew ever closer, the homeowner in me rebelled and declared “YOU CAN’T RENT!  YOU MUST OWN!”  So, I sent my cousin out to find me an inexpensive little condo.  Which she did.  I had to make a quick decision so that I could get closed in time for my arrival.  I didn’t have time to come out and shop for myself, so basically I bought my place over the phone!  Which is probably a good thing.  I may not have bought it had I seen it, well, more appropriately SMELLED it first!  I was warned that there was an odor of cat urine, but we thought that a good industrial carpet cleaning might just do the trick.  Apparently, though, the trick was that the homeowner put her furniture over the worst areas, thus reducing the odor!

My agent arranged for the carpet cleaning to be done, but when my cousin (Julie) came over to do a good cleaning before I arrived, she called and told me “I don’t think this is going to work.  It smells AWFUL in here!”.  In fact, she had the carpet cleaners out twice to reclean.  When I arrived, late in the evening, the place smelled strongly of cleaning agents.  When I woke up in the morning, I nearly gagged.  I immediately called the carpet guy out who said the carpet needed to go, that there was no salvaging it.  So day one in my new house saw all my flooring downstairs being torn out down to the plywood subflooring.  I had planned on doing that eventually, I just didn’t know eventually would mean 12 hours into my living arrangement! 

After all the carpet and linoleum was torn out, he started his treatment plan.  He was out five times performing different magics each time.  The first time he put on some sort of solution to draw the urine out of the subflooring.  Within hours there were huge, ginormous in fact, puddles of pure cat urine covering my floor.  He returned, told me he thought some of that urine was in fact HUMAN, vacuumed that up and repeated.  The puddles lessened, but he did it again.  The third time out he bleached the floors.  The fourth time out he actually sanded the subflooring.  The fifth time out, he painted the whole floor with Killz.  That seemed to do the trick.  When I asked just how bad my house was compared to other superfund clean-ups he’d done he replied with “On a scale of 1 to 10, it’s the worst I’ve ever cleaned up.”

Had I had the black light thing done, I’d be renting an apartment.  Good thing I didn’t.  I just LOVE my crummy little 1980’s condo!  (BTW, the new countertops are in!  GORGEOUS!)

 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

3 responses to ““On a scale of 1 to 10, it’s the worst I’ve ever cleaned up…”

  • joanne

    I’d forgotten the horror stories from the beginning! And I don’t think you told it to me in as thorough a detail! GLAD thought days are in the past and now you can enjoy the fruits of your labor…keep up the good work, huh?!

  • Julie

    every time you mention me being involved in the purchase of the condo, I feel guilty/bad…..good thing you always end with ” I love my crummy little condo”….or I’d really have hurt feelings 🙂

  • blahblahblog

    I DO! I love it! That’s why I’m glad it went just the way it did go! THANKS!~

Leave a Reply

