Code Black

Now I have been asked this question twice…”What is a “code black”.  This was apparently mentioned in a ad for the TV show Grey’s Anatomy during the Superbowl last weekend.  And since I’m a nurse, I guess I should know.  When asked the first time, I said “I don’t know” and that was that.  The second time I was asked, I thought I had better find out, in case it’s something I’m SUPPOSED to know! 

In the hospital setting, there are “codes” for lots of things, and they vary from facility to facility.  When one of these codes is called there is a prescribed response that goes into affect.  Some of these codes might be “code pink” for infant abduction, “code silver” for a hostage situation, “code red” for a fire, etc.  And of course, the ubiquitous “code blue” for a cardiac arrest.  In this episode of Grey’s Anatomy they used “code black” to indicate a bomb threat.

Here is a picture of my Emergency Codes card which hangs on my badge:

                Emergency Codes.jpg

If you are so inclined to want to know EVEN more about “codes” and “code black” in particular, I refer you to this link:

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/story?id=1591231&page=1

 

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

2 responses to “Code Black

Leave a Reply

