The shocking true story about “the Mew”

Although I’m not giving it “Unpaid product endorsement for the day” status, recently Static Guard has been elevated to life necessity status.  I have a cat.  You’ll hear lots more about her I’m sure, if this blogging thing holds my attention.  Okay, so my cat is named Mew Ling.  Princess Mew Ling Calico Star to be exact.  She is a dilute calico Maine Coon mix and has this fabulous long coat.  Which, in this particularly dry climate, gets very staticy(?), staticky(?), statickey(?), full of static electricity.  I touch her and she crackles and sparks.  It’s disturbing to me, I can’t imagine how it makes HER feel.  Lately she has started to recoil when she sees my hand heading for her, so I thought I’d best do something about it.  The stuff smells terrible, but works like a charm!  Spray a little Static Guard on your hands and pet cat thoroughly.  Repeat as needed.  Don’t look for these instructions on the can.  I don’t think it falls under “normal household use”.

              Hi Mew!!!  Mew shows her backside.jpg   Isn’t she just presh???

 And just one more!  My house has radiant heat in the ceilings, which by default, means radiant heat in the floors upstairs!  Mew can often be found lounging in one of these “hot spots”!

                             

About Lou (Linda)

Just a girl from Colorado trying to live life to God's glory with a certain amount of gusto! View all posts by Lou (Linda)

7 responses to “The shocking true story about “the Mew”

  • Heather

    She is beautiful! I’ve been keeping track of you through this blog and I love it! I think it must be some sort of voyaristic (sp) pleasure I never knew I had before. . . ?

  • blahblahblog

    I totally understand the voyeuristic thing! A high school friend of mine sent me a link to his, and a bunch of his friends were linked to it. It was SO WEIRD to read about them! Glad you are enjoying it. The frustrated writer in me is sure enjoying doing it! Thanks for reading! Lou

  • Joanne

    OK, so for the most part, Colorado, the Springs in particular, has so much to draw youi to it, but the dry winter static isn’t one of them. Scott put a piece of foil under the base of the computer so that when you go to touch the usb port, you don’t short out something else due to the static! Clever idea about Mew Ling!

  • blahblahblog

    Thanks! I hope I don’t poison her (or me!)!

  • MasterP

    This lady have been smokin’ too much. how does a cat get staticy(?), staticky(?), statickey(?), full of static electricity ? Please im dying to hear!

    Master P: Hair usually gets full of static electricity when the humidity is very low. It is also created when there is friction between hair and other substances, like carpet, or balloons. Have you ever rubbed a balloon on your hair? It’ll stick there! Same thing happens when long haired cats roll around on carpet! Hope that helps. Also, I don’t know if the type of hair you have affects whether or not you get static electricity. Hope that helps! And HA! Haven’t been smokin’ too much. But thanks for dropping in! 🙂

  • Alice

    Your cat is beautiful!
    There is a better way to prevent static when you pet your cat. There are special hand lotions that prevent static. My husband is in IT and his office was so wired, that in the winter you could not touch anything without getting a shock. So he got that lotion. I am sure you can buy it on-line.
    Like this one
    http://www.mcminone.com/product.asp?catalog_name=MCMProducts&product_id=20-990&CMP=datafeeds&ATT=froogle

    Alice – Thanks! Both for the cat compliment and the link. I never heard of such a thing as static reducing lotion! My cat thanks you, too! 🙂

  • sandrar

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

